We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”

Review of Butterchurn

Butterchurn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterchurn
Living space with underfloor heating Polzeath beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Butterchurn
Living space with underfloor heating
Polzeath beach
Neatly fitted kitchen
Wadebridge on the river Camel
Antique dining table infront of picture window
Camel estuary
Spacious light double bedroom
Port Isaac
Double and single bed
Hall with underfloor heating
Fully tiled wet room
Front door to Butterchurn
View from the lawn
Padstow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
St Minver, Wadebridge, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
newmanhou...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What can we say! Absolutely perfect in every way! Wonderful views, well thought out cottage in an area we love . Ideal for trips to Polzeath, Padstow, Port Isaac, Boscastle , cycling the Camel trail and endless more lovely places . The family are very welcoming and have made this an ideal place to stay in when in this beautiful part of the country. We will return and thank you for the pint of milk ! Definitely will recommend to others

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review, so glad to hear your stay was perfect and in the area that you love. There really so much to do in North Cornwall and with a great base and friendly Owners it sounds like the ideal holiday. We do offer a loyalty discount If you stay at this property or another in the scheme if you return in the near future subject to terms and conditions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H
West Chiltington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Accessed down a short well-made road off the B3314, Buttercurn Cottage provides an ideal base to explore North Cornwall; with the lovely seaside villages of Rock and Padstow close by. The friendly owners have thought of everything that you will need to make your stay on their dairy farm a real “home-from-home”. Often when a dishwasher is proved there is only a small number of each item of crockery/cutlery; not here, there is plenty of everything to make things that much easier.
The cottage has the most spectacular views across rolling fields, were you can see the cattle and sheep grazing; and then watch as the cows are rounded up, from far into the distance into the milking sheds—looked so easy, then watching a skilled person always makes things look easy!
There are plenty of ‘boy’s toys’ to keep you interested—big tractors; and we were lucky enough to see sheep being sheared (it is only a small flock of 20 or so), quite a back breaking task.
Built in traditional slate, well insulated and glazed, with reclaimed timber and doors inside—and underfloor heating in case it gets cold—with two showers, one a wet room; what more could one ask for? Happy holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
That’s great news you have had a fantastic holiday. We are glad to hear that you felt the property was home from-home and had plenty of everything you needed with a bonus of the two showers and underfloor heating to keep you clean and warm. It’s nice that you got to see the farm in action during your holiday, showing you the real Cornwall. We do offer a loyalty discount If you stay at this property or another in the scheme if you return in the near future subject to terms and conditions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you want from a Cornish holiday cottage for two (+ small ones maybe!)”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Smashing little cottage in a wonderful corner of Cornwall. A very friendly, family farm location, just off the beaten track and very close to everything you come here for. Very modern, but equally homely. The fantastic location looking out across the Camel Valley to Wadebridge and back across Bodmin Moor to Rough Tor and Brown Willy is an added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Glad to hear you had a lovely holiday in St Minver and enjoyed Butterchurn and I am pleased that you found the views amazing. Hope we can welcome you back soon where you explore Cornwall even more. Remember that returning customers receive a loyalty discount. *T&C apply.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia R
1 review
“Brilliant accommodation”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Butterchurn is a lovely cottage with great facilities and wonderful views. The location is perfect for visiting all parts of Cornwall. We found the day to day activities of a working farm very interesting. We would like to thank Louise and family for making us so welcome and our stay so enjoyable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thanks for your comments, sounds like you had a lovely stay at the cottage and also enjoyed the beautiful rural location. Hope we can help again with your next trip to Cornwall!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful views, great location!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've had a fantastic time staying at Butterchurn, great location, wonderful views of the open countryside, a lovely cosy place to be based from and to explore the Cornish Coast. Would definitely recommend as a place to stay, our daughter loved being on the working farm with all the animals!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
So pleased to hear you had a fantastic time at Butterchurn, many thanks for your comments! We do hope we hear from you again in the future, don't forget a loyalty discount awaits you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing