We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tom Jones @ eden”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GUNNADO

Lounge and Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and Dining area
Lounge Bedroom with Picturesque window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Lounge and Dining area
Lounge
Bedroom with Picturesque window
Bedroom with picture window
Views from property
Views from property
Bathroom
Fully fitted kitchen
Fitted kitchen
Secluded Patio and Decking
Private entrance
Fowey harbour
Cliff walk at nearby Par beach
Sunset at nearby Carlyon Golf Club
Secluded beach near Polkerris
New Bedlinen
St.Ives
St.Michaels Mount
Polperro
Readymoney Cove 4 miles from  GUNNADO
Fowey 7 miles from GUNNADO
Mousehole
Hosts Catherine and Rob
'Doc Martin's' House Port Isaac
School in 'Doc Martins'
Port Isaac 'Doc Martin's'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
DavidJone...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tom Jones @ eden”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Wonderful place to stay to discover Cornwall, spotlessly clean,very welcoming hosts! Would recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely kind words, we loved having you stay at GUNNADO. We do hope to see you again sometime in the future, maybe the next time Sir Tom Jones plays at Eden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiggerpoo...
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Apartment With Exceptional Hosts”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had the perfect stay in this excellent apartment. From the very warm & welcoming greeting from Cath & Rob to the final goodbye. Everything was spotlessly clean and our every need catered for, the owners have thought of everything you could possible need and attention to detail is by far the best we have experienced in anywhere we have stayed. We would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful property to anyone & will definately return ourselves should we need to Cornwall before our move to Carlyon Bay. Thank you so much Cath & Rob you should be very proud of yourselves & your wonderful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Sorry there was nothing to dislike at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It means so much to us to know our guests have had a great experience whilst staying at GUNNADO. We would love to see you again before your exciting move down to Carlyon Bay, I'm sure you will be very happy down here in beautiful Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan M
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very badly let down to poor customer service of owner”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I am disappointed to have to write this as we were so looking forward to staying in Cornwall this Bank Holiday Weekend but unfortunately due to the owners arcane policy of relisting a property if someone doesn't turn up on the first day of a trip (even if you are in constant contact with them and told them you would be there the next day) we didn't get to go!
We couldn't come on the day of booking as our one year old son was unwell and emailed immediately to tell the owner we wouldn't come but would come the next day if he was well enough, got a response saying OK etc. Since we assumed this was like the dozens of booking.com bookings we have made previously where you pay whether you turn up or not, we assumed there would be no problem arriving a day late and we were under the full assumption we would be paying for the full stay even if we did arrive a day late. We were so very wrong.......
We went to set off the next day at 6.50am and sent a message to the owner saying we would be with them later that day, at which point I imagine she got in contact with booking.com and got them to ring us telling us we were not welcome to come any longer and our booking had been cancelled and resold by the owner.... please bear in mind we had packed our 1 year old in the car and drove for over 2 hours and 100 miles at this point. Can you imagine how upset we were?
We assumed that we would be paying the full amount regardless of turning up a day late, which is very fair. However, we then rang the owner who said she was perfectly within her right to resell our booking etc.
I would like to point out that I had been in touch with Catherine numerous times during the previous week to arrange check in, a high chair etc so it isn't like we just booked and didn't turn up and I informed her as soon as we wouldn't be coming on the first day.
The owner informed me they could sell the room 'ten times over if they wished' and it was the busiest time of year so why shouldn't they resell our booking? Surely it isn't her fault as soon as she relisted it that someone booked it again within ten minutes? No... it isn't. However it is your fault for relisting it without checking if the original bookers were coming, especially since the last communication from us was a positive.
She then launched into Economics 101, which really wasn't necessary as we do have a fairly good grasp of running a business as we do have a small business ourselves.
We do, however pride ourselves on our customer service unlike the owners of this apartment.
All in all a very disappointing experience.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
It is unfortunate that we both found ourselves in this position this bank holiday weekend. I too was disappointed to learn that on the day of arrival you sent me a message saying "not coming today my son was unwell last night, might come tommorrow if he is well enough". My last response to you was "please let me know how he is". I had not heard anything more that day up until midnight. From that point on I have to mark it as a 'No Show' because not only have I missed a nights booking but I would also be charged commission for that night and any subsequent nights you may not show. As you can appreciate it is a bank holiday one of our busiest times of year. When marked as a 'No Show' it automtically opens up for re-booking, something that is out of my control. It just so happens that it was booked just 10 minutes after if became available, also out of my control. I had already checked with the agency and they confirmed I was well within my rights to do this as you hadn't paid by bank transfer to secure the booking and you hadn't informed me as to whether you were coming or not. They verified this by the messages sent via the agency's website.

Yes, we had communication the week before your stay, when you mentioned you would be bringing a one year old child, this was not mentioned at the time of booking on the 31st of December 2015. I stated that I could supply a highchair etc, but the communiction was not there at all when it came to your arrival...or not.

Of course your first priority is the welfare of your child and I hope he is better now, but my priority is to ensure that our business runs efficiently. We are a small concern with only one apartment therefore we don't have credit card facilities, so we accept cash payment on arrival and rely and trust that guests turn up and if not as some things are unexpected and crop up to let us know. We want to optomise the maximum occupancy for the apartment we have especially at this busy time of year in the height of the season (bank holidays too), after all it is how we make a living.

We did not ask you to pay by bank transfer for the night you didn't show up because you can't help your child being poorly, however you informed me quite clearly that you would not be paying for the 'No Show' in your very aggitated telephone call to me. Unfortunately this is not the first time there has been a 'No Show'. On several occasions guests have either forgotten they booked and were not coming or they just don't turn up with no communication at all, because they haven't paid when booking. So in light of all this we have now changed our policy. Unfortunately we have realized that we cannot run our business on the premise that guests "might" turn up. So from now on we ask for a deposit by bank transfer to secure the booking on some of the sites and the agency that you booked through have now opened a new oportunity whereby they take payment on my behalf. I have just signed up to this and it will shortly be up and running. I am sure you can understand as you have a fairly good grasp as you run a small business yourselves this will help us maximise the business to it's best potential, both for us and for future guests. I too pride myself on customer service and inform and communicate with my guests on every level.. If you go to Booking.com, Cornwalls Cottages, Tripadvisor and Air bnb, all the sites we are listed on, all the testimonials and reviews reflect this, something we are very proud of ,and continue to strive to do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for exploring Cornwall and a peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Our first visit to Cornwall and we have been truly spoilt. Gunnado is the perfect location to be able to explore the beautiful little habour villages and views and walks. Spotlessly clean, very modern, well furnished, it has everything you could possibly need. Cath and Rob have thought of everything. So comfortable and quiet with beautiful views. Lovely hot shower, kitchen has everything. Spacious. Special thanks to Cath for the warm welcome and advice she gave us about places to visit....PERFECT!! Thank you so much we hope to be back!! xxxxxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and peace
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
It was such a pleasure to meet you both and we are thrilled that your 1st experience in Cornwall was such a positive one. We do hope you come back to Cornwall as there is so much more to discover. We loved having you stay at GUNNADO, and a big thank you for the card, and lovely reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed 5 nights at thi little gem. Excellent base for seeing Cornwall.
Cath and Rob are perfect hosts and provided absolutely everything we required. They even let us enjoy time with their dogs, Chumbles, Milly and Layla as we were missing our dogs.
We have stayed in many many holiday rentals this is top of the list all the furniture and fittings are top quality and the view from the lounge room beautiful and tranquil. There is even a set of binoculars to watch the wildlife.
highly recommend 10/10

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It was so lovely to meet you both, we are thrilled that you had such a fantastic time at GUNNADO. Meeting people like you makes us love what we do. We do hope we see you again in the future, all the best with your onward travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing