We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
159
26
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
26
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews this family run hotel hotel is spotless nothing is too much trouble inflated hotel a restful nights sleep customer expectations glorious views returning guests warm welcome cooked food friendly owners coastal walk breakfast and dinner st ives peaceful location relaxing break very comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Our 3 night trip to Cornwall was focused on the Patrick Heron exhibition at Tate St Ives and the wish to some coastal walk. This hotel was a great base and we could not fail to relax there.Certainly the hosts were quite exceptional but they put emphasis on the right things like excellent locally sourced food too.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank LawrenceHolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconJo, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Lawrence,

Wow! Thank you for your brilliant review, we are very chuffed to read your kind words,
Sorry for the delay, the decorating has began!

Kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We enjoyed a short break here. Our room was very comfortable with nice views over the countryside. This family run hotel was very friendly and we were made to feel welcome. We appreciated the "no child" policy, but others may not.
Choice of breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order. Dinner menu very traditional. We did walk into St. Agnes, but the road is a bit hairy and transport at night is definitely advised.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconJo, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Joanna,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! Thank you also for your lovely review! Our guests do appreciate the peace and quiet here and we make sure our policy is very clear. I must be honest I like coming to work for the peace and quiet as well!

We very much hope to welcome you back in the future, next time you should try one of our coastal view rooms!

Kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

The consistency Of detail, attention and warmth across all of the staff at this hotel made our stay above excellent. Not only are Paul and John at reception cheerful, knowledgeable and personable, but so are all the restaurant staff and chef...this family is amazing.
Our room had everything we needed and then some including tea service and biscuits...it was so completely relaxing and the perfect stay. The bar, lounge area and restaurant are aligned so you smoothly transition from drinks to dinner and then conversation with the new friends you just met!
Kudos to you all, our week there was
Perfect!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Meridith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconJo, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Meridith!

I have passed on your lovely comments to my dad and husband who are now a little smug! Thank you so much for a lovely detailed review! We love how guests often make new friends and frequently return at the same time to see them again!

Come back again!

Kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Large rooms, well appointed and comfortable; warm and welcoming hosts; ample and delicious breakfast; free parking. We really enjoyed our stay and appreciated the good advice from our hosts on local sites worth visiting.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MarDeeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconJo, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello!

I am so sorry for the delay as you saw we were having a fantastically busy season! We really enjoyed your company and were delighted to hear you enjoyed our suggestions!

There is however plenty more to see!

Kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

A perfect hotel in a perfect country location. This family run hotel has everything – peaceful location, great food and service, and excellent interior décor. In the grounds of the hotel are large lawns where you can sit with a drink and overlook the countryside for miles around - views from the restaurant and bedrooms are similar.

Room Tip: The whole location is very very quiet. The whole hotel is maintained in lovely condition so all rooms will be good.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconJo, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Phil!

Your review is very much appreciated! We are so spoilt with our location, the views change all of the time and we ourselves are often distracted by them!

We enjoyed you staying with us so we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews