We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Rosevine(Rosevine)
USD 305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun(St Mawes)
USD 174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 108
USD 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Tresanton(St Mawes)
USD 340
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 289
USD 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 189
USD 161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 241
USD 235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 287
USD 279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
446
66
12
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
66
12
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachchris edenamuse bouchecourse tasting menumichelin starred chefroseland peninsulathe cliffsuperb foodthree nightssmall hotelsea vieweach eveningcooked to perfectionlovely roomfantastic viewsfeel very welcomenothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The hotel has a lovely ambience. It is in a beautiful position and rooms have stunning views over countryside and the sea. Staff go out of their way to be helpful, the food is excellent and there is a good choice.

We stayed in the attic room which had stunning views of the sea. There are good walks locally and we recommend the gardens at Trebah which are about 20 miles away.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank 196jt2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you, that is very kind, I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Yes we have been to Driftwood many times & the fact we return tells the story. We live in Cornwall & just occasionally we need a treat - & its here. Fabulous coastal setting, very relaxing with a small, somewhat quirky layout & lots of character, great service and a warm welcome. All this is great, but we really also go for the food. Never disappoints - and we are fussy! And to walk off the excesses the coast path is right there running in front & below the hotel. If really keen, you can access the beach below which, facing east, is often sheltered & offers good swimming.
Looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for sea view room if available.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank andmarCornwall_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much, it is always a pleasure having you to stay and I hope we will see you many times more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Having eaten here last year, we vowed to return and stay. We had a small double which would be fine for a one night stay but not for three nights. However, the view from the window was superb which was the most important thing. The room, No3 would have benefitted from at least a shelf over the sink and an extra spotlight over it. It was almost impossible for me to see to put on any makeup or my husband to shave. The bed was comfortable.
The public areas are light, simply decorated and relaxing. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. The sommelier ( Kristyna ?spelling) was very knowledgeable and lovely to talk to. The maitre'd was also very good. The owners were also very warm and welcoming.The food was delicious and portion sizes were good. Altogether, the three day break was excellent value for money. We will return for another break but to a bigger room!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulineSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you, and thank you for your constructive comments on the room. I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves and intend to return. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My wife and I were lucky enough to be invited to join a group celebrating the 50th birthday of a good friend who had been to the Driftwood before. It was our first time and over the two night stay we were impressed with the hotel, our room, the service we received and the food. Our group took the hotel over for the duration which made for a very relaxing break feeling more like a couple of nights in a friend's home rather than staying at a hotel.

Our visit was in February 2018 which coincided with a cold and windy spell. Our room was located in a detached building adjacent to the hotel which required a fairly bracing but thankfully short walk in the morning for breakfast and when returning to our room.

The restaurant has a Michelin star and while the food was delicious, I found the portions to be slightly on the small side although our meals were all artistically 'presented' on the plates as you would expect at a restaurant with a Michelin star.

I have awarded the hotel four stars in my review although in so many ways it deserves five stars. It really is a lovely hotel and the staff were so friendly and attentive for our stay. Even though this is a high-quality hotel, the room price seemed just a little more than I felt was justifiable. This is why I have given four stars instead of five.

I would love to return to the hotel in the summer to enjoy the beautiful location and the hotel's gardens more.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you, we are all delighted it all went so well for your hosts special birthday. I think are room rates are actually pretty reasonable, from £245 to £305 per night including breakfast and dinner for two. Please do come and see us in the summer, sit in our wild flower garden, listen to the bees and stare at the sea, it really is magical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Once again we have really enjoyed a short break at the Driftwood. The excellence has been maintained since our first visit 6 years ago. Everything about the Driftwood will ensure our return later in the year.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pandpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you back after all those years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews