We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The South Barn

Open plan, contemporary living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan, contemporary living
Modern kitchen and furniture Double bedroom with feature wall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Open plan, contemporary living
Modern kitchen and furniture
Double bedroom with feature wall
Enjoy a bath, in one of the double bedrooms
Double bedroom
For the kids
Wet room with drench shower
Arrive to a welcome pack of local goodies, including a home-made cake
Surf's up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portmellon Cove, Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
289katie
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 1 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Lovely location in a beautiful part of Cornwall with easy access by car to all the local beaches etc. The accommodation living area was good with a great kitchen. The bedrooms & bathrooms were basic & it would have been good to have nice furniture etc to make the bedrooms comfy and a bit homely - bedroom bins were needed too - sounds petty but the finishing touches weren't there. A lovely property, beautifully renovated but just lacking in home comforts a little.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl D
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cornwall holiday with our besties”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We holiday with our best friends every year and fancied something different this year, so chose Cornwall for a 10 day holiday. Well what a fantastic choice we made. The South Barn was the ideal place to stay for us, well equipped, with great facilities and so very peaceful. The local fishing village of Mevagissey was the most typical, working, Cornish fishing village you could wish to find with fantastic pubs and lovely locals.
We walked for miles along the coastal path, which was truly wonderful, but always new we could return to the homely comfort of our lovely accommodation.
We can't recommend the South Barn highly enough if you want comfort and style but peace and quiet as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Fionn...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday home we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent holiday home, great for families with kids.

Cakes and local produce on arrival a lovely personal touch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelBowes
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning holiday home”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We rented the south barn during the half term week, the photos online really don't do it justice, every room is beautifully presented, upstairs is a large warm and comfortable open family area and kitchen ,downstairs you have 2 double bedrooms one with roll top bath and a twin room suited for kids, there is also a family bathroom and wet room with shower. Mevagissey itself is a 20-25 minute walk (we have 2 boys 5&8 so probably quicker if you don't have kids) down hill on the way there and mostly uphill on the return, if returning after dark a torch is necessary for your safety whilst walking on the road and the lane from the road to the barn is pitch black at night! Lovely welcome pack on arrival of Cornish goodies, plenty to do in immediate area or lands end etc..only 1.5 hrs drive. .would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandLi...
County Donegal, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Return Visit - Still brilliant”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It is always a good sign when all the group want to return to revisit a place. We enjoyed our first visit to South Barn in 2014 and the second visit did not disappoint. The welcoming note, flowers and goodies are just a lovely touch and made us feel so very welcome. And the lemon drizzle cake was delicious!

The south barn is warm, cosy, modern, clean and has everything you would need for a visit. Mevagissy is a great village so plenty to see and explore. We would recommend a trip to the Hidden Hut for food. Great location and lovely food.

We would highly recommend the South Barn and hope to return again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms finished to a high standard
Liked least: The weather but I can't blame the owners for that
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing