We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect property rental in secluded location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Picture Window

Open plan contemporary living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan contemporary living
View of the two bedroom barns, from the front The master bedroom with feature wall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Open plan contemporary living
View of the two bedroom barns, from the front
The master bedroom with feature wall
Twin room
Twin room
Wood burner, for those winter evenings
En-suite bathroom
The back of the two bedroom barns
Enjoy a glass of wine on your decking
Lovingly restored, Grade 2 listed building
Arrive to your welcome pack of local goodies, including a home-made cake
Surf's up!
Portmellon Cove, a short walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portmellon Cove, Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Andrew L
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect property rental in secluded location”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for one week in this very comfortable and well converted two bed unit. The property was well appointed and with high quality fittings throughout. The owners were very helpful (needed some urgent printing done), yet unobtrusive. The welcome pack of food, wine and stellar brownies was the best I have ever had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireP32...
1 review
“Peaceful, comfortable retreat”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful 8 days here and couldn't fault it. Great location within walking distance of Mevagissey but far enough to give us some exercise - especially coming back up the hill from the harbour! Penwarne Manor and the barns are set in a peaceful and beautiful valley, sheltered from the winds and so quiet - wonderful to wake and hear absolutely nothing but birdsong.
The Picture Window was presented to a very high standard, spacious and light in the living area which was very welcome on the gloomier days of our stay. The generous and thoughtful welcome pack included our tin of the much reviewed to-die-for brownies - as well as food, a vase of lovely flowers from the garden. It was also more private then I'd envisaged in spite of being open plan outside, our decking was screened and we weren't overlooked except by the cows!
Well placed to explore the area. A highlight was the ferry to Fowey when we saw porpoise both there and back. Lunch at Sam's in Fowey was excellent as was dinner later in the week at the Polgooth Inn both recommended by the ferry skipper!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort723...
1 review
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A peaceful setting with well appointed accommodation on the outskirts of Mevaggissy. The location provided a good base to explore, be it beaches, towns or attractions. Mevaggissy though a small hike has a good range of restaurants and small shops. The owner gave good communications and support making the stay most enjoyable and relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R
1 review
“Really super stay , lovely accommodation, attention to detail ,”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Really happy to give the picture window a great review , we really enjoyed our stay . Accomodation was clean , new and well presented. Will definitely book again when we return to the region .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne D
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a cottage with two large bedrooms, two luxurious bathrooms and a spacious fully equipped kitchen, in a peaceful location, this is the one for you.

The owners provide a welcome pack that includes wine, bread, sausages, bacon, oil, tea bags, coffee and a homemade cake! And they leave you alone to enjoy your holiday - they live in the Manor House, so are there if needed.

Lots to see through the picture window, including a fox and gold finches.

Great location - walking distance into Mevagissey and close to Heligan and Eden Project by car. Also, can walk from the cottage onto the coastal path.

Perfect. Do not want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing