We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage, Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
david r
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, Great Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is in the beautiful town of Mevagissy, only a short walk from the fishing harbour. There are nice pubs and restaurants along the picturesque harbour and boat trips availible from the quay. The cottage is a good size and very well presented and furnished, with a conservatory and garden. Everything is left to make you feel welcome on arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willerbyp...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was Ina ideal location with parking which is a essential thing in Mevagissy. Lovely and clean with everything you need

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for your comments. I feel it is only fair to give a balanced view to trip advisor reviewers that we respond to your comments.
When you arrive you will have found in the kitchen your welcome tray with a card for our local agents in the village. It is stated in the welcome information that if you have any problems during your stay that Charley and her team are there to help you at anytime during your stay. You sent me a message via Tripadvisor at 9pm on Friday evening (the day before departure) stating you had some issues (more have been added to your review subsequently). I replied by return. This of course made it very difficult for our agent or indeed ourselves to offer you any support given you only had a few hours left of your stay. I sincerely wish you had contacted one or both of us much sooner.
We have a NEST controlled central system in the cottage as you stated we can control this system from our devices if really necessary. It is however very easily controlled manually using the dial in the kitchen by turning the heating up or down as you require and indeed a comprehensive information pack is provided at the cottage with all the instructions for the technology we provide. Once again though, had you contacted our agents they would have been more than willing to support you with the difficulty you were having.
You are correct that we provide Apple TV’s in both the lounge and master bedroom. We have not stated channels only that you can log onto your Netflix account and continue to watch the programmes you enjoy. We also provide DVD’s, CD’s, books (of which we are happy for your to take one home if you are in the middle of reading them and replace with another) and a variety of board games. There is also a music system and radio. I’m sorry you feel there was not enough in the way of entertainment if this is what you are suggesting.
You are correct we have got moisture traps in the bedrooms, common practice in properties of this age in costal regions. Indeed due to the recent weather conditions many areas have a very damp feeling including ourselves who are completely land locked!
When we were last at the cottage, there we no areas of wear or staining on the carpets. Our agent has noted no new issues so if you would be kind enough to send me a picture to my e mail address (which you have) I would be very grateful. I am confused by this!
Regarding the bedding stain, our agent was very sorry to hear this and would have been round immediately to replace this once again had you called. This would also apply to the cigarettes ends you also found in the garden which were not there when Charley carried out the quality check prior to your check in.
I am sorry the stay didn’t meet with your expectations. Regards Martin and Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy R
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice House”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Mevagissey is a fabulous Cornish harbour town and to compare it to a Canadian log cabin with its own boat or Barcelona is ludicrous. We have stayed here 3 times, have booked again for late summer and can't wait. The Cottage is exactly as described and for my wallet, great value. Roll on the next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweetcopp...
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice house”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Although a nice house and good location, we're a bit surprised by the 5 star reviews. A pleasant house with amenities we'd expect and insist on - wifi, dishwasher, washing machine etc. But we've stayed in some amazing places including Canada (where an incredible log cabin with it's own lake and boats cost us the same amount!). And a 3 bedroom villa with it's own swimming pool near Barcelona cost us the same 2 years ago. Sooo ....the reviews I read made me expect sheer luxury and it really isn't. Nothing to complain about but......

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 597
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing