We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth
Nearby Hotels
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa(Mawgan Porth)
USD 373
USD 285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bre Pen Farm B&B(Mawgan Porth)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seavista(Mawgan Porth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kernow Trek Lodge(Mawgan Porth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trevarrian Lodge(Mawgan Porth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Ocean(Mawgan Porth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
169
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco cottageslog burnerwatergate bayfeeding the chickensstudio cottagewoodland walklocal beachcomplimentary biscuitsminute walksmall dogunderfloor heatingcleaning materialsweek in aprildog biscuitsfriendly hostseden projectpeaceful location
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Merlin Farm was clean, modern and absolutely perfect for our 4 year old and 2 year old in tow. The cottage was well equipped with everything you need for cooking and we loved the basket of toy for the kids. Our children enjoyed feeding the chickens and we couldn't have wished for a better location - near hundreds of great beaches and restaurants plus the spa at the scarlet hotel! In the evenings we stayed cosy with out log burner and under floor heating. Truly one of
Our best UK family holidays. Thanks Merlin Farm!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank mandhesketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed a cosy New Year break at Trevone Cottage and look forward to seeing you again for the next one! Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I booked a 3 night stay at Merlin Farm. Initially I made an error with my dates but without any question Lucy happily changed it for me, so already 5 star.

Then we arrived. We stayed in Daymar which was beautiful. Compact but perfectly presented. From the personalised note and the added delicious biscuits on arrival to the log burner. Ready to go. The place certainly is cosy especially after Darrel showed us how to use the log burner on our first night. Again service so helpful he apologised to us when clearly we didn't know what to do.

Merlin farm is so peaceful and relaxing. Ideal if a couple just wants that peace and quiet. It was an absolute pleasure to have stayed there. Thank you

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pompeytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your Winter break in our cosy Daymer Studio. Hope to see you again! Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

After a few nights at a local hotel the week before, I decided to head straight back down there from Devon and Merlin Farm was perfect. It is a great location and the cottages are stunning. They were very accommodating of me booking at late notice and the cottage and area is outstanding. It was great to be able to take the dogs with me and they loved their daily walk on the local beach. Having the log burner on was a lovely treat each evening. I really loved the chickens, ducks, geese, horses and donkey on site that would come and say hello every morning and the dogs behaved perfectly with them. The room was a studio cottage and very cosy and well decorated and equipped. I'm looking forward to going back in a larger cottage next year. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank MC2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your Winter getaway at Merlin Farm. Hope to see you again soon, Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

First time visit to Merlin Farm and Mawgan Porth, even though I have passed signs for it many times when visiting Cornwall in the past. Can't say we were disappointed with the location. Mawgan Porth is a lovely little coastal village nestled into the Cornish North coast with the South West coast path leading off towards Watergate Bay (another fantastic beach and of course, Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall), or towards Bedruthan Steps and Padstow.
Merlin Farm is 5 mins by car from the beach or a good walk (we discovered the beach path from the farm near the end of our stay but walked along the road to the beach in about 20 mins). Beautiful setting for a much-needed break to recharge those batteries before the Christmas rush.
The Eco cottages are grouped together but the design has allowed each one its own private garden so you don't feel overlooked. Externally they are modern but yet have kept that quaint farmhouse cottage appeal and inside is very much the same with all the mod cons that are expected of an exclusive hotel, but with the charm of the country.
The log burner in the lounge was a must once the storms set in but despite the howling winds and rain, we were snuggled up in our cottage for a cosy evening in front of the fire.
The Wheeler family provided a well produced information pack with the history of the farm and ideas for day trips, with some of their favourite places to visit. It was also nice to read about the Eco cottages and what they are doing to help conserve the local environment and wildlife. Recycling bins are provided on site and remember to save any bread or cereal scraps for the chickens!
With no children travelling with us and the fact that our son is now 18 we now don't have to worry about the extras you need when travelling with kids, but took note of the stair gates and plug covers that were already provided which would give any parent that added peace of mind when staying somewhere new.
For a weekend getaway this was a fantastic location as ideally located to get out and about to Newquay, Padstow, etc or just to soak up some "Cornwall" before you get sucked back into the grind of daily life. Next time we will be staying longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Eco cottages but all looked lovely with views across the valley
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DJonesTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Eco Cottage. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay here and in Mawgan Porth. Hope to see you again soon, Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

LOVED every moment we stayed here, 5 old school friends wanting some r&r. Just how we had imagined it. Super comfy, well maintained. We lit the woodburner with the fire wood provided. owner even posted back a phone charger we left behind. Will be staying again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hannahbaggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thanks for your review and for choosing Merlin Farm for your Winter getaway with friends. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews