We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best!”
other travellers have booked this property
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach. Patio overlooking river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach.
Patio overlooking river
Master bedroom and shower room.
Double bedroom with adjoining bathroom.
Top floor Moroccan twin bedroom with en suite shower room.
Cornish cream tea on the patio
Ground floor sitting room    doors onto patio.
Ground floor sitting room.
Ground floor sitting room.
First floor sitting area.
First floor sitting area.
First floor dining area.
First floor kitchen area.
Master bedroom and shower room
Double bedroom.
Looking over bridge into Lostwithiel
From Patio looking upriver.
Bridge at high tide.
Fowey river outside Brunel Quays.
Lostwithiel's Restormel Castle.
Eden Project 4 miles from house.
Par Beach 4.5 miles from house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Our second visit,and I reiterate :
Perfectly equipped,very attractive decoration,very comfortable.
Excellent location between railway and river inLostwithiel with good views and walks from the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good kitchen with all facilities, being in Lostwithiel
Liked least: Not being able to turn heating on when back cold and wet.Sofas not having headrest for tall people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you, THE BEST compliment is guests returning. Many thanks for coming back to The Moorings and I a delighted that the house location and Lostwithiel came up to your expectations. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
6
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of presentation and location
Liked least: Some train noise from very early morning trains
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Leslie
Thank you for the review. I am delighted that all went well and appreciate your input re missing kitchen items. If you return I will ensure you have Cornish jam with your scones and cream rather than the (identical jar of) Cornish chutney that was left for you !!
Lostwithiel is a good base for touring the county but as you mentioned there is a lot to do and great walks in the local area. I appreciate you leaving a Lostwithiel map in the house, I will restock when I am next down.
Again, Thank you for the review and i am thrilled that you place The Moorings in the “luxury” category. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stephenbo...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday in a lovely home from home!”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
5
people found this review helpful

The Moorings met all our expectations for my sister Christine, my brother Bernard and his wife Cath plus Gill and myself. We holiday together once a year and try to make it special for everyone and this year was another winner.

The beds are really comfortable and showers have lots of power. In the kitchen they have covered all your needs with lots of other gadgets. Free wifi, flat screen TVs and good lighting. Located in a quiet part of Lostwithiel along the river It's a few minute walk to the town centre. The Globe was a good place for an evening meal.

We visited Eden Project, hired bikes in Wadebridge, hired a boat in Fowey, visited National Trust and explored some nice little seaside places. If your looking for something special in a great location then "The Moorings" will deliver!

Steve and Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and modern
Liked least: Nothing we were unhappy with.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Stephen
Thank you for such positive feedback with regard to your stay at The Moorings. I am delighted that Gill, Christine, Cath and Bernard also felt that the house lived up to their expectations. It sounds like you had a pretty active week ... maybe you need to come back for a holiday ! Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve S
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent attention to detail”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The Moorings is beautifully decorated and the attention to detail instantly makes you feel at home. Vivienne has thought of everything you might need and more. My wife's 40th was made extra special by the thoughtful touches she provided and she was always quick to reply to any queries.
The patio area, overlooking the River Fowey, was very comfortable and a very pleasant place to sit in the evenings. The owner of a holiday property can make or break your stay and Vivienne obviously puts a great deal of effort into ensuring that a trip to The Moorings is a wonderful experience you will not forget. Book with confidence.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind words. I do try to “cover the bases” but it is very rewarding (and encouraging) to know that the effort is appreciated. I hope your wife has happy memories of her birthday in the Moorings and also hope you choose to return one day. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison A
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful property; excellent location; highly recommended.”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The property was immaculately clean, beautifully decorated and very well-equipped. There were only four of us, but there was easily enough space for two more. We could have used the house as a base to explore all over Cornwall, but we just needed to relax and explore locally this time. We loved being by the river, and were able to swim in it most days. Having shops and restaurants only a few minutes walk away was wonderful. The weekly open air 'Sing along the river' takes place weekly in August just over the river from the property - this was an added bonus. Beds were comfortable; all appliances worked; Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. Booking was easy and the owner helpful and keen to make sure everything was in order.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the whole package
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Alison. Am happy the house worked out for you all and am very impressed you swam in the river. As you mention Lostwithiel is a good base but when I am down there are normally enough walks and other activities to keep me in the town - so like you i tend to stay close at home. Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at The Moorings and for the above. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing