We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for exploring.....”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Brambles

The Brambles Holiday Bungalow.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Brambles Holiday Bungalow.
The Brambles Holiday Bungalow. The Brambles Holiday Bungalow.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
The Brambles Holiday Bungalow.
The Brambles Holiday Bungalow.
The Brambles Holiday Bungalow.
Lounge area.
Lounge area showing French Doors onto patio.
The kitchen area.
The 2nd double bedroom.
The main double bedroom.
Newly re-furbished bathroom.
A tranquil stream runs behind the property.
The fishing lake at the Manor House. Licence required a available to purchase on site.
The Village Inn onsite pub/restaurant.
The beautiful fishing town of Looe only 9 miles away.
Looe beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Liskeard, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Happiness...
1 review
“Perfect for exploring.....”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed at The Brambles for a midweek break in late July. 2 adults and 2 kids.
Plenty of room as the bungalow actually sleeps 6, however we booked this as it was around the same price as 2 bedroomed properties we were looking at and we wanted a little more space. This was ideal.

Had no issues with cleanliness as mentioned in previous reviews. In fact, the place was spotless. There was a slight 'musty' smell we noticed when we first arrived, however, we went out for the day and left the windows open and upon returning the smell wasn't noticeable.
However, the patio furniture could do with replacing as it just looks very dated.

Best thing about this place is the location. It is set in a lovely peaceful site just outside of Liskeard and right next to Bodmin Moor. Very quiet and peaceful which is exactly what we wanted. (Can't stand noisy amusement arcades and fast food outlets!).
There is a pub on the site, though it was only open on the evenings. Didn't eat there but the food looked good. Beer was very nice and a good selection.

It is also an ideal base for exploring Cornwall. We went to a different place every day, although Looe, which is about a 15 minute drive away, was our favourite. (Highly recommend 'Sarah's Pasty Shop'!).

All-in-all, we really liked this place. It won't be everyone's cup of tea, perhaps too quite for some or not 'modern' enough for others. However, for us, it was perfect, and I have no complaints for the price we paid for a mid-week break in school holiday time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Hi,
thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Brambles.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments.
Regarding the patio furniture, i am pleased to say that we are planning to have the patio completley re-done later this year, and that will include new patio furniture.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.
Regards, Richard & Lu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Terrible”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Have just come back from one week at the Brambles. My husband and i arrived first, on the Saturday, and my daughter and her family on the next day.
When we arrived we were astounded by the smell of damp. It was so bad in the wardrobe that i wouldnt put my clothes in there till late evening as had sprayed the wardrobe first. The smell was in the cutlery drawers and was so
strong. There was damp on the walls and under the beds in the third bedroom there were sweet papers and a book. So obviously not cleaned before we came, under there!!!! Needless to say we left under the bed as had done enough cleaning.
My husband spent a lot of time cleaning before our daughter and family got there.
The site; itself was lovely and laid out nice. If we were in another "clean" bungalow i would have no hesitation in recommending the place. I have photos which we took to confirm this. My husband had to clean the hair out of the shower as the water didnt go down.
Sorry Richard but felt the need to point these things out.

Value Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Brambles.
I am very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the cleanliness of the bungalow upon your arrival.
Please be assured that i have spoken to the cleaner and discussed the topics that you have raised.
I am dissapointed that you did not contact me directly, upon your arrival, regarding these issues as most of them could have been rectified on the same day, had i been given the oppourtunity to do so.
Thanks again.
Regards,
Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liskeard hotels

Camper568...
1 review
“Nice and quiet location”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very nice convenient ,Enjoyed, good place,Highly recommended, big bungalow , wonderful location , great communication

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Brambles.

We are so pleased to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed the accommodation and we would love to welcome you again some time in the future.

Regards,
Richard & Lu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul w
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at The Brambles, 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 young children, and all had a lovely stay. Bungalow was well maintained, clean, stocked with extras such as DVDs and games and with a new bathroom/shower.
Location is 5 mins outside Liskeard which is perfect for places like Looe, Polpero, Eden Project and even Plymouth.
We could not give this place a better review - Perfect!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of 'The Brambles'. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely holiday at our bungalow. Thank you for your kind comments.

We would love to welcome you again some time in the future.

Best regards,
Richard & Lu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou72806
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

After reading the previous review I was a bit dubious about staying, but I can honestly say the place was spotless. The new bathroom is lovely. The Brambles had everything we needed. The site is in a really good location and is really quiet. We only had a short stay this time but we are planning to come back later in the year for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2014
Hi,
thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Brambles, we value your feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the peaceful location and new bathroom.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at The Brambles.

Richard & Lu Harris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing