We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Master bedroom with king-size bed
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom with shower over the bathtub
Table tennis table/games room
Badminton court and swingball
Private garden/patio area
communal football pitch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eleanor B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a wonderful stay we had. We travelled down with our 2 children, 4 and 2. Upon arrival Patrick the barn owner was very hospitable, offering advice on places to visit whilst in Cornwall. The cottage came equipt with all mod cons and our hosts had left a handy information sheet listing places of interest etc. The cottage itself has a spacious feel due to the vaulted ceiling and extensive outdoor space. Our boys loved adventuring in the garden, playing hide and seek and football, not to mention the swing set.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swallows Cottage and do hope to stay again in the future. It's perfectly situated for exploring Cornwall and we discovered some wonderful places.

Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevW138
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvellous cottage, amazing location, fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Ideally placed for exploring this area of Cornwall. The cottage is like a home from home, with Patrick and Tracey thinking of everything. The double bed is extremely comfortable and I slept better than I do at home. The garden out of the back of the cottage is extremely well cared for and is ideal for kids and dogs alike. The cottage was wonderfully clean when we arrived and both Patrick and Tracey are very knowledgeable about the area and places to visit. We will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Okehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wow. Absolutely fantastic holiday accommodation. Patrick and Tracey have a little gem of a complex of two cottages and farmhouse here.
Highly recommend staying.
Homemade scones on arrival with local clotted cream.
Cosy and comfortable accommodation with stunning countrysideviews Iin every direction.
Beautiful gardens which our 4 year old loved exploring, especially the maze.
Our little girl thoroughly enjoyed meeting the owners dogs Alfie and Herbie who are adorable.
Lots of places to visit and some fantastic restaurants in the area.
If looking for somewhere child friendly then this is very definitely the place for you.
We are looking forward to returning next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faircaked...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gem of a cottage! ideal for dogs and little ones!”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Where to start?! This cottage has everything we were looking for.

The owners were perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they want you to feel like it's home from home. They give you your space but are also there with lots of local knowledge and tips.

We made a long journey with two young kids and our Labrador but they made a highchair and travel cot with two thick mattresses available to us. Best our little one has slept on holiday! There's also a swing set in the huge garden, animals for them to see and lots of beautiful views and countryside.

You really feel like you can switch off from the hustle and bustle with the acres of land. The icing on the cake was our three year old was able to collect the hens eggs during the holiday. It really made her trip!

The cottage had great wifi reception which we've struggled with elsewhere.

The bedrooms were modern, lots of storage and the twin bedroom is set back from the kitchen/living area so we could actually have some peace from the kids at night!

Location wise it was the perfect base. On the owners recommendations we were able to explore the Lizard, st. Michaels mount and a few beautiful beaches. All were short distance which was perfect after our journey down as we just wanted to stay local.

It really was the perfect stay. The cottage was modern yet retained the country cottage feel. It was spacious, child and dog friendly with great owners on hand to help.

We will definitely be returning again. A real gem and great find! Thanks again to Patrick and Tracey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beezerdaw...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family holiday - Great cottage, Great hosts”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Greeted by the perfect hosts, very friendly who work very hard to make your holiday special. The cream tea waiting for us on arrival was superb. Cottage was clean and warm (double glazed throughout), arriving Easter weekend the weather was typically British although we did have a couple of fine days later on. Amenities comprised of everything you need for a traditional Cornish holiday, bags of character. Plenty of games and grounds to keep the kids occupied and a reliable Wi-Fi signal to keep the teenagers happy. Mobile wise O2 and EE networks both received signals at the premises. A true dog friendly property (the owner's also have dogs) and their local knowledge is great which is a huge asset along with a massive rear garden/ paddock. Don't forget your doggie bags! Location is lovely and quiet and ideally situated to explore the area only a short drive to some lovely local beaches. We will definitely be returning! (minus crutches)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds were great for the dog and children
Liked least: As with most properties, utilitiy knives need sharpening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing