We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening Meal”
Review of The Top House Inn

The Top House Inn
Ranked #28 of 126 Restaurants in Helston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 29
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mainland Britain's most southerly inn located in the heart of The Lizard village. A wonderful place to eat, drink and stay with a traditional Cornish bar and restaurant, serving homemade food and local fish and seafood dishes. The Inn boasts 8 stylish and comfortable ensuite rooms, quietly located in a 3 storey accommodation building attached to the pub but with its own front door. The Inn is open all year round and has been owned by James and Donna Glosby since 2010 welcoming back guests time after time as so many guests love staying here.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Dropped in one evening for dinner. Had the dogs with us and were very pleased to find the pooches were allowed in the bar area (but not the restaurant) which was great. Food was great, good quality and fairly reasonably priced. Service was ok, the waitress kept confusing herself and had no idea what beers they had on. Lovely girl but a bit ditzy! Beer was excellent (HSD) and well kept. Overall a decent place to eat, would have liked to go back but never got the chance,

Thank Richie1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glosby, Owner at The Top House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review; much appreciated!

Great to hear you really enjoyed your visit to the Inn and were able to have your dogs with you too. We find it works well to have designated areas for those with dogs as so many people like to bring their dogs out with them to the pub. Good to hear you enjoyed the HSD, we have always scored top marks with cask marque visits as it is so important to keep those ales well, Sorry to hear the service was a bit disjointed, we will speak to the team about your feedback and establish where we need to do some more training. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Come and see us again if you are in the area.

Best wishes


James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018

My lite bite fish finger sandwich put the remainders cream teas to shame and brought out a little jealousy. All were very good just some better choices than others.
Great service and friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glosby, Owner at The Top House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review; much appreciated! We are delighted you enjoyed your homemade fish finger sandwich. We are so fortunate to be by the sea and able to buy local fresh fish for our chefs to make those delicious fish fingers. Good to hear you were received great service and were well looked after by the team on duty during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes


James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

The place advertises itself as offering pub food and it does. Nothing fancy not particularly good but not bad either. You get what you would expect from a pub in this location.

1  Thank niekenpiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glosby, Owner at The Top House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Sorry to hear you found us to just be average, as a pub we do of course offer pub food but feel our offering is of a high standard using local ingredients and food cooked from scratch including all our delicious homemade desserts. Majority of our dishes feature locally sourced ingredients. Whilst our dishes may not appear to be fancy, the quality should speak for itself. We offer local fresh fish and seafood, we make our own burgers, cook our own hams, make our own proper pies, pates etc.

Best wishes

James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Had lunch at the top house. 4 different meals all really good value. Drinks were cold, staff were friendly and they let dogs in. What more do you need!

Thank paulnash1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glosby, Owner at The Top House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review; much appreciated.

Good to hear you enjoyed your meals and had a great visit.

Come back and see us again.

Best wishes

James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We dined here for two nights while staying in lizard- we ate in restaurant and bar. We found staff to be very friendly and helpful and food of high standard.

Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Top House Inn also viewed

The Lizard, Cornwall
The Lizard, Cornwall
 
The Lizard, Cornwall
 

Been to The Top House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing