We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic cottage in a great location with an...”
other travellers have booked this property
Unique, picturesque 16c Cornish Cottage situated on the outskirts of Mawgan Village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unique, picturesque 16c Cornish Cottage situated on the outskirts of Mawgan Village
Private foreshore, jetty, boat, woodland and gardens - exclusive to Rock Cottage guests. All rooms look down towards the creek and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Unique, picturesque 16c Cornish Cottage situated on the outskirts of Mawgan Village
Private foreshore, jetty, boat, woodland and gardens - exclusive to Rock Cottage guests.
All rooms look down towards the creek and garden
Fabulous view, wonderful location!
Landscape during autumn
Children and their parents spend many happy hours crab fishing from the jetty
Cornish primroses carpet the riverside banks throughout spring time
Wonderful springtime flowers in February
New kitchen is well equipped, uncluttered, clean with modern appliances and fabulous views!
Sitting Room has a luxury 3 seater sofa and armchairs new for 2016
Books, magazines, Cornish culture, WiFi, puzzles, games, maps and walks - it's all here for you.
Bedroom 2 ideal for children: books, boats and bright pictures
Spacious Garden Room
Flexible sleeping arrangements in Garden Room - choose either twin 3ft beds or a 6ft
Beautiful polished oak furniture in Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom has triple aspect views
Quality linen for all beds
Nothing to spoil the view!
Magnificent elevated view of Mawgan Creek. See yourself sitting here!
Colourful flower borders
Fish, explore or have an adventure in Peggy
December scene on Mawgan Creek
Plenty of places to visit - all within a short drive
Fishing Cove dog friendly beach
Christmas inglenook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic cottage in a great location with an amazing view”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Arrived at the cottage with my family (including two young children) and was blown away by the view and secluded location – it honestly was everything we had hoped for.

Arrival - We met Linda who took us down to the cottage and showed us everything we needed to know and also provided us with fantastic freshly baked bread and scones which were immediately demolished by the family. Linda was really knowledge about the area and very friendly – even booking tables for us in the local pub!

The Accommodation - The Cottage and Garden room were really well equipped and had everything we needed - although we pretty much survived by cooking in the BBQ area which also looked over the jaw dropping view, which should be attached to my recommendation. The beds were fresh and comfortable and fluffy towels provided. The garden was beautifully maintained and a great size, but for me the highlight was definitely access to ‘Peggy’ the rowboat – my son and I used her every day for messing about and crabbing, and you can really catch a lot of crabs (not for eating).

The Area – There is so much to do, we’ll head back next year… 10 minutes’ drive from Kynance Cove (which is an amazing beach), close to Falmouth, St Ives, Helston and many other lovely villages. An hour away from the Eden Project and my son also had a great day at Flambards theme park.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
We are absolutely delighted to receive another brilliant review from a very satisfied guest and his lovely family who thoroughly enjoyed everything that Rock Cottage and its beautiful surroundings have to offer. See you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cottage with a view”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Another wonderful holiday at Rock Cottage - thank you Linda and Robin for the warm welcome on arrival, lovely home made goodies and beautiful flowers.
The cottage is very well equipped and so comfortable - the beds ensure a good night's sleep.
Wonderful garden and woodland - so much to explore and taking Peggy out was such a highlight as the peace and quiet of the creek is sublime.
So many lovely places to explore within such easy access - Helford, Loe bar, Gunwalloe, Mullion, Coverack and Kynance cove to name but a few...
Great food at Ship Inn Mawgan, Ship Inn Porthleven, New yard restaurant Trelowarren and the local stores at Mawgan have some real treasures.
Thoroughly recommended for a relaxing holiday in great surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unspoilt view of the creek at the kitchen table
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this excellent review on your recent stay at Rock Cottage. As always, it will be good to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E G
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and spotless, well-equipped cottage. Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We chose this cottage due to its very private location and beautiful views, it certainly didn't disappoint! What a fantastic week we had with our children. We received a warm welcome from Linda. Beautiful fresh flowers, home-made bread, cream tea, even dog treats! What a lovely surprise. The cottage was spotlessly clean, beautifully and thoughtfully furnished. It had a lovely, homely feel to it. Extremely well-equipped too, has absolutely everything you could ask for. Garden is lovely and spacious and very well-kept. The children enjoyed rolling down the slope :)
The tidal creek gives the cottage a real WOW factor, what a stunning view! Spotted kingfishers, herons, foxes and plenty of other wildlife. Did lots of crabbing and fishing, straight from the jetty. The children loved having their own little private 'beach'. Our dogs loved their holiday too, exploring the garden and trying to track those very tempting but elusive rabbits and squirrels!
Having stayed at many holiday cottages in the past, Rock Cottage is definitely our favourite and I'm sure we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tidal creek
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrikel...
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A comfortable cottage in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at Rock Cottage in June 2013. The house was comfortable and has everything you may wish for. The location and views are simply spectacular. A sheltered garden with a lot of privacy and always the ever changing view with the tide coming in or going out.
We received a very warm welcome by Linda and Robin and appreciated the attention.
The area is great for hiking as we covered most of the coastal parhway of the Lizard Peninsula. Beautiful walks and very pittoresque villages.
Picture perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No en-suite
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W
Crosby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Rock Cottage is in a beautiful location and within easy reach of great beaches and good pubs. We especially liked the food in Prince of Wales pub Newtown-in-St-Martin, Helston, Cornwall TR12 6DP The beds where very comfortable the kitchen well stocked and the little welcome pack was a nice touch. We had fun on Peggy and continued the Crabbing tradition.
Our only dislike was the immense number of rules and regulations which Linda likes to put all around the house. It made us feel uneasy and a little paranoid. We felt that we could not have a glass of red wine in the evening, in case we spilt it on the lovely very light carpet in the living room. Also the children felt they could not really be children in case they damaged anything by accident.
We feel overall that if you feel the need to focus on being over protective of everything in the cottage, then maybe you should not be renting it out.
Or maybe increasing the rental above the damage waiver to put your mind at rest and just put a note in the welcome pack to ask guests to be careful, and dispense with the little notes everywhere!
Would we return ”yes”

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Too many petty rules
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2013
What a pity Stephen W did not tell us about his unfounded concerns when he had the opportunity before. We asked if they were happy with everything and settled in and the reply was "It's just fabulous, thank you". They even made a similar comment to the local shopkeeper. Also, the entry in our Guest Book was entirely positive. So perhaps any nit-picking now could be due to his irritation and impatience on being told that the 36 hour delay in returning the damage deposit was entirely due to his own error when providing bank information.

There are no unnecessary rules. We have been letting Rock Cottage for over 50 years and our experience is that some guests need advice and guidance when staying in an unfamiliar property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 133
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing