We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of F26 Porthia

Large lounge/kitchen/diner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large lounge/kitchen/diner
Kitchen with full size fridge freezer, washing maching and double oven with ceramic hob TV with intergrated DVD player.  A selection of games, books and DVD for rainy days
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Large lounge/kitchen/diner
Kitchen with full size fridge freezer, washing maching and double oven with ceramic hob
TV with intergrated DVD player.  A selection of games, books and DVD for rainy days
Dining table - Seats upto 8 people
Picnic table for alfresco dining
Rear of Porthia - plenty of space for outdoor play
Rear of Porthia
Front of Porthia
Double bedroom
Bunk bedroom
1st shower room
2nd shower room
Hayle Beach - 3 miles of golden sands
Godrevy Lighthouse
Amazing sunsets
Find the carving at Tehidy Park, feed the ducks and swans on the lake
St Michaels Mount
St Ives Harbour - Get the train from St Erth
Tin Mine at Lappa Valley Railway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hayle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
angelican...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay ”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked at short notice to stay in Hayle as my partner has fond childhood memories of Hayle and Gwithian beach. When we first arrived and opened the front door we were greeted by this wonderful homely atmosphere the chalet was light and airy the bathrooms yes bathrooms were decorated to a high standard as was the rest of the chalet you can walk to the beach which takes only about five minutes and the views are breathtaking definitely would book to stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't believe I was booking our holiday through trip advisor but it was really easy and loved reading the positive reviews also, made quite a few enquiries throughout the who booking process and the owners were extremely helpful. The chalet has everything you could ever need and my one and only fault would be out of their hands - Phone signal, the location made it very hard to connect with 3G and the WIFI (not free) providers are not great either, even on a 15 minute free trial the connection was poor!
I guess in one way it was good for us not to be on social media or browsing the Internet when you have views like that right outside your door practically! Great location and a fantastic feel to the place.
Will be coming again next year 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rokiah Y
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent chalet”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We chose this chalet as it was only 4 mins our friends in Hayle. We found it very well equipped and liked the decor and furnishings. Its very close to the beach too which is a big plus as 2 of us went swimming on New Years Day! Thanks for making our New year holiday comfortable and pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings and open plan living space.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozzy12342...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely modern chalet, spacious”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Porthia was in a nice quiet location. Outside isn't very well maintained!

Went in and was happy, as pictures are accurate and I was very pleased we chose this chalet.

Good points

Spacious
Modern
2bathrooms
Bunk rooms full size beds - great for children.
Well stocked kitchen
Range of books, DVDs and beach equipment
Location was ok as a base for us.

Bad points

Could do with a spring clean, very dusty and in need of a good fettle, was food under sofa and items under the bed.
Bedding was very tatty and pillows need replacing, mattress topper on double bed made it very hot
Double bed has king size quilt... We took double duvet cover and as it was too small it was lumpy ( not good in warm weather)
Didn't have a good sleep at all :(
Bin was over 3/4 full on arrival.

Would recommend visitors take their own bedding for comfort - aside from this we found it home from home and would stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review of Porthia. We are glad you had a good holiday despite the issues. We can only apologies about the chalet not being cleaned to its usual standard. We have spoken to the company who deal with the cleaning and they have looked into it and assure us it will not happen again. We are happy that these issues did not put you off trying to booking for 2015, unfortunately we did not have dates that suited. We look forward to hearing from you again in 2016. Kind regards Babs & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolaand...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chalet - could not fault - def recommend.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Porthia is a fantastic holiday chalet - fully equipped and lovely extras such as toys, games, beach equipment, books and DVD's and furnished to a high standard. We travelled with our children - 13 & 10 - and was great they had a room each and no fighting over top bunk! The 2 shower rooms were a fantastic bonus - great after a day on the beach. Also the washing machine was very handy.
The site is very quiet - we had a lovely peaceful family holiday with every day on the beach which is an easy walk from the chalet.
A lovely area to stay - lots of places within half an hours drive - though we didn't really leave the beach due to good weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 412
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing