We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Star Inn(St Erth Praze)
USD 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 77
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Calloose Caravan & Camping Park(Leedstown)(Great Value!)
USD 23
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
208
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuliet balconyspotless roomsst ivesthe south west coast pathsmall hotelcommunal fridgeset us up for the daykite surfersstunning viewsslept like a logfantastic stayexcellent locationensuite bathroomfantastic hostsan ideal baseyour doorstepfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We arrived after a 9 mile walk from St.Ives and received a very warm welcome from Paul and Barbara. The location is stunning , and the rooms were spotlessly clean and tidy. Slept like a log and had a wonderful breakfast cooked to order which gave us the power to walk to Portreath !

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harperfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

The pleasure was all ours and hope you enjoyed your walk to Portreath and enjoyed your week in the sun afterwards.
Hope to see you all again sometime. Warm wishes Paul and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

I am no stranger to the hotels, B&B’s and self catering accommodation in Hayle as I am always down visiting family.

This must have been the first time in 15 odd years that I have stayed at the Penellen and it DID NOT disappoint.

Great rooms, view, breakfast and of course hospitality at a reasonable price, what more could you ask for!

I will definitely stay here again, hopefully soon.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

The pleasure was all ours Ross. We are so glad that you found us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Barb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Very good value for money considering the amazing location. Barbara was very attentive to our every needs and took the time for chats and advice on the area . Our room had a Juliette balcony but considering the time of year wasn't needed but imagine in the summer months would be lovely to keep open during the night and listen to the sea . A lovely quiet area to stay .. the beach was stunning and the view from our room was amazing . We watched the sunset from the bed . Breakfast was cooked to our specifications and was more than enough to set us up for the day .. highly recommend this b&b . Would love to go back for a longer stay .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michele I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Michele and David,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Couldn't have been happier with our stay, the hosts Paul & Barb were very inviting and helped us settle quickly. The rooms were excellent with clean bathrooms and very comfy beds.

The best feature of the Penellen is the location and views from the rooms. The sea views really are sea views and are beautiful especially at sunrise and sunset.

We have booked again for June this year and can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WJones1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Hello Warren,
It was lovely to meet you and your wife. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Penellen is in a beautiful location, with incredible views of Hayle beach. Owner is very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is extremely clean and our room was lovely, with everything we needed. The bathroom was huge, with a luxurious walk in shower. Breakfast was delicious, plenty of cereals, yoghurts etc to choose from followed by a perfectly cooked fried breakfast. Fantastic to be able to watch the sea from our room, and to be able to pop out for a walk on the beach so easily. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GracieGracie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it helps with the views that we have got from the hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews