We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful base to explore Cornwall”

Review of Karndu Retreat

Open plan living continued
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living continued
Harvey Quay Open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Open plan living continued
Harvey Quay
Open plan living space
Kitchen - Dennis the dog not included!
Master bedroom
Shower ensuite
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom WC
Patio at Karndu
Harvey Quay parking
View from the apartment
Hayle Towans
St Ives
Penzance
St Michaels Mount
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hayle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam D
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful base to explore Cornwall”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Karndu Retreat in August 2017 as a party of four plus one furry dog. The apartment was spotless, beds soft, bathroom clean, in fact every utliity required for a holiday in Cornwall where the weather can turn just when you least expect it. The attention to detail was excellent, including a Wii and a retro playstation with a selection of dvds to watch. Wifi is also included for teenagers and those who cannot tear themselves away from work.
Hayle has a scattering of shops and takeaways within easy distance and Asda is literally seconds down the road. There is a coastal path to walk behind the property, excellent if you are a bird watcher or for walking the dog at 6am and there is also access to the beautiful beaches in Hayle... however Cornwall Council kindly put up signs a fortnight before we arrived banning dogs from the beach during the time we were there and leaving the only beach available unaccessable (because you had to walk over a banned dog beach to get there!) Undetered we took our furry companion on a day trip to St Ives (there is a train and parking a mile away and it costs just under £3 to park and £8.00 return for the whole family, Lots of dogs on the train so that was fun! St Ives was beautiful and most cafes allowed dogs to come in whilst owners had Cornish Cream Teas! The cobbled narrow streets were full of galleries and places to explore, with treasures such as fudge and cornish pasties to consume. The Lizard and Lands End are within easy driving distance, although furry friends are again not allowed to paddle on most beaches during the high season, however the Eden Project and Trebar gardens were doggy friendly and a delight to explore (although you cant take your dog into the bio domes at eden but we took it in turn to see things so nothing was missed). Charlestown was entertaining, especially to see where some of Poldark was filmed and we even went up North to Padstow for the day (very very busy). After such hectic days spent exploring, knowing that there was a beautiful place to return to and relax was a delight. As I am writing the sequel to my novel at the moment and Hayle has such a nautical feel, I loved the atmosphere and hearing the seagulls when we woke in the morning.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear the property was spotless with good attention to detail should you find yourself with bad weather. Its great to hear you got out and about and found suitable beaches for your dogs to enjoy themselves too. We hope the book is coming along and you took some Cornish inspiration with you. Im sure the Owner’s would love to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wow, this place is absolutely perfect in every way, the location is very close to ASDA. An ideal location to go visiting other places. The accommodation is outstanding, it has everything you could possibly need. The owner is also extremely helpful and easy to talk to.

Will definitely go again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2017
Thank you for your time to leave us feedback. We are glad you found this property had the WOW factor and was perfect in every way. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pregan88
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning dog friendly apartment!”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in June. Rachel the owner and Cornish traditional cottages were a pleasure to deal with. We was welcomed by fresh milk in the fridge a bottle of prosecco and Cornish biscuits (Which we brought more of in st ives). The apartment is stunning! The smell upon entering from the scent sticks was lovely as was the sheer quality of the apartment. We was impressed by the small details like the pictures on the wall taken by the owners daughther of Cornish landscapes to the kitchen equipment. The added bonus of books,Nintendo wii with 20+ games (especially to keep the kids occupied) dvds in the draw, great coffee machine, underfloor heating, heated towel rails, a big smart tv was also a unexpected bonus. We took our 2yr old collie Harry with us who loved the immediate access to the estuary walk behind the apartment. We met many other dog owners on our stay and was taken back by the friendliness and amount of dogs on there walks. They all loved playing on the sand and in the shallows of the sea which was lovely to see. On arrival Rachel the owner had left Harry he's own dog blanket and a biscuit which was so thoughtful, he wasted no time gobbling the biscuit down after a long car journey. Asda is a 2 min walk as is the shops and the train station. The salt bar next to asda is great for food and drink, so is Sanders fish and chips by the train station. We loved our stay and haven't stopped telling people about how great the apartment is. You need to see it for yourself to appreciate this hidden gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review of Dolittles Den, its nice to hear you had a warm welcome and some provisions for your stay on arrival, including provisions for Harry the dog. We are glad that the apartment was well equipped with attention to detail. Dolittles is in a great position and certainly is a little gem. We do offer a loyalty discount If you stay at this property or another in the scheme if you return in the near future subject to terms and conditions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing