We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottages, tranquil location”
Portholland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portholland
Pond Meadow Kitchen/living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Portholland
Pond Meadow
Kitchen/living area
The view from your sofa....
Kitchen/living area
View from your balcony...
A cooks dream....
I spy with my little eye......
Double bedroom with kingsize bed.
Twin Bedroom
Single bedroom. (Upstairs)
Upstairs hallway...
Bathroom
East Portholland Village
Portholland and Pond Meadow
Our resident chickens...and turkey!
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland cove
View from the driveway....
Kayaks available to hire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Gorran Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jpfordy
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing cottages, tranquil location”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage really is fabulous, the owners have gone to a lot of trouble to think of everything you may need. Wonderful comfortable beds, well equipped, dishwasher, washer drier etc,. Netflix & Amazon prime on the TV, kept the teenagers entertained. Only things I would say bit of a squash around the table for 2 adults & 2 teenagers, but 2 of us ate with the food on our laps, not a problem for us. Also the TV is at an angle to the seating, bit tricky for everyone to see. But these are just slight niggles & over all I would highly recommend this cottage. The area is lovely, very quiet, super sandy dog friendly beach. Apart from a small cafe/gift shop there is nothing else in Portholland, so not for those expecting your normal Cornish seaside resort! Perfect for us. Easy to reach Truro or St. Austell by car if you want something more, once you've negotiated a couple of miles of narrow roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds! And the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammyjoe1...
Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazingly Beautiful”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Words cannot describe how perfect this is for a holiday destination! It's absolutely amazing! We have been there the last three years and have already booked to go back next year. The scenery around is beautiful, it's nice and remote and peaceful and the beaches are lovely. Whether you are a couple or a family looking for a great getaway this is perfect. The cottage is comfortable cozy and very homely. Jo and kris have gone to a lot of trouble to make sure everything is just right so many little extras just make it, they make you feel welcome and anything you need they are there and nothing is too much trouble. Thankyou Jo and Kris look forward to seeing you next year again xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evetything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammynjud...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This has been the most relaxing time ever !!
The cottage is lovely , close to the beach . My 2 boys have loved it. Booked straight away for next year .
My idea of heaven .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrummyDi
Birmingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect for 2!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This converted barn is only a minutes walk from the beach. When the tide is out the beach is perfect for an early morning stroll with virtually no one else around.
Portholland is a tiny hamlet with only a handful of other dwellings and accessed down a very narrow single track lane. We only had to dodge the pheasants, but in the height of the summer I imagine the increase in traffic could make a trip to a shop or pub quite hairy at times, reversing to find a passing place!
There were only 2 of us, so we found there was plenty of room. It would be a squeeze for 5 adults as there were only places to sit for 4 on the sofas and 4 seats around the dining table which would be a squash to fit!
We chose to sleep in the twin room that had a television as the double room did not.
The kitchen was adequate for our needs, and the bathroom needs an upgrade, and I know this is on the 'to do' list of the owners.
When we arrived we had fresh flowers on the table and a bottle of fizz in the fridge which was very welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Inside needs an upgrade
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareMi
1 review
“Sun sea sand peace & tranquility right on your doorstep”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a fab week in this very beautiful place!!
We were very lucky indeed to wake up to blue skies & sunshine nearly every day !
The converted hayloft is very comfy & cosy & set in one of the most picturesque & peaceful places! Milo & Max our 2 Min Schnauzers just loved the lovely (dog friendly) sandy beach just yards from our doorstep!! Perfect for those early morning & evening strolls!
Pond Meadow is in the most gorgeous setting surrounded by nothing but green fields, half a dozen houses & the sea!! & with ducks on the pond & fresh eggs from the hens & all the other lovely "finishing touches" for our stay .....it really was a blissful week away
Thanks again Jo Kris & family & the delightful Merv! Woof

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing