We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go there”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Acre

Kings Acre
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camelford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Acre
Ranked #9 of 13 Camelford B&B and Inns
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just go there”
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed 2 nights (28th and 29th May 2008) in the Mackintosh room, which is really terrific. The bed is huge and superbly comfortable with enough pillows to start your own hotel and a mattress that just about reads your mind!

The décor appealed to us – we had recently revamped our own wet room with Charles Rennie Mackintosh design tiles and a spare, uncluttered look and felt immediately at home here. The whole concept here at Kings Acre seemed very thoughtfully integrated and visually satisfying. The vaulted ceiling with clever lighting, numerous windows (with blinds) and ample proportions give the bedroom a very light and spacious feel that inspires relaxation – helped by the immensely deep carpet, chesterfield and large flatscreen TV.

We were greeted warmly by Lynda after a dreadful journey (remember the flooding?) but were soon able to wind down with a clotted cream tea (home-baked scones by Graham, I believe) followed by unpacking, then a sybaritic session in the spa building. That was a great treat. There is a self-contained mini-gym, complete with shower, sauna and one of the best Jacuzzi pools we have ever encountered – which included a submerged recliner section which massaged you from top to toe – bliss!

And then there is breakfast: try not to eat the night before – and be wary of planning a pub lunch after it! Graham excelled himself with this first meal of the day and the surroundings are delightful – individual tables, comfortably spaced – ours was in the bay window with views towards the coast, and very tasteful background music (discussed with guests to optimise the ambience). The ingredients were of the highest quality and the portions were generous to say the least (smoked salmon and scrambled eggs features in the offerings). On the second morning, my wife opted for the continental breakfast to avoid over-facing herself – so was surprised to be served with two substantial slices of beautiful ham and four different cheeses weighing in at about 3 ounces each! Just go there and be spoilt.

  • Liked — Superb bedroom, wetroom decor and the pampering
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Over the bank holiday weekend we booked ourselves into Kings Acre Waterfront Room. We booked the special 2 night package where we recieved tea and scones on arrival.

Lynda, the owner, was great in providing us useful information on the local area.

This B&B is absolutely unique and amazing. The room was well decorated and was spotless aswell as faultless.

We had access to our own hot tub and sauna room!

We really felt we were on out honey moon!!!
Breakfast was amazing.

Lynda really made us feel welcomed and we would recommend this place highly to anyone else that wants that special break away.

This was a unique 2 nights stay!

  • Liked — The service we recieved and the cleaniness
  • Disliked — nothing to fault
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ypuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

We have just got back from this fantastic B&B, the room we stayed in, the Mackintosh, was beautifully decorated with lots of special little touches. We arrived to champagne, chocolates and rose petals on the bed. My partner, with the help of Linda, the owner, had planned to propose and Linda had made a beautiful little card especially for me (I said yes, by the way!)

The breakfasts are very good, with lots of choice and plenty of food, you won't go hungry here!

The leisure suite with hot tub and sauna are really good and spotlessly clean, as is the rest of the B&B. The rooms are so comfortable, with special mattresses that you sink into. Our room had an extra large bed, a sofa and a flat screen TV with freeview.

I will definately return and will recommend this B&B to friends and family as it was so lovely.

Overall, a fantastic stay, was made to feel very welcome and had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There was nothing I would change.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank danilou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2007

We have just arrived back from Kings Acre North Cornwall.

The website introduction states that it is a B&B with a little difference, but let me tell you, it is very different and first class.

We booked the indulgence package - to celebrate our anniversary - we were treated extremely well. The package included a bottle of Champaign on arrival, quality chocolates and the bed decorated with petals.

We also had complementary slippers and bathrobes. On arrival we were greeted outside as it was quite dark after a 5 1/2 hour drive.

The check-in process was completed over freshly brewed coffee and scones baked on the premises with jam and cream.Delicious! Note was also made of the type of music we liked.

The themed room was fantastic - the Mackintosh - well thought out and made to make you feel comfortable - a match for any 4* or perhaps even 5* hotel. The bed is sumptuous and just a delight to be in with the tempura mattress.

Breakfast - talk about eating like a king... breakfast was served to music of a genre discussed during the check-in process and the food presentation and quality were surprisingly good and so filling. Caution - if you are going for the Full English Breakfast, make sure your waist band is quite loose.

This B&B also has a fitness room with sauna and hot tub which you can book for about 2 hours a day, for us if was a fantastic way to wind down at the end of the day.

The package also included sandwiches on one of the days… once again they were well presented on a platter with a large salad and 2 rounds of sandwiches made with a mixture of thick sliced bread which looked home made but I’m not sure if they were…. I didn’t ask.

Although the time of year that we visited the area did not produce the best weather, the facilities more than made up for the weather, which was rather wet and windy but was not particularly cold during the day. The B&B come hotel is located in Camelford North Cornwall and is not far from Tintangel - King Arthur country. It also did not take long to get to Rock – the other side of the estuary from Padstow.

All in all, the 3 night package was wonderful, the hospitality and accommodation and food were first rate and worth experiencing more than once.

  • Liked — The general deco, the facilities, food and service.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Van43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camelford hotels
0.0 km away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.0 km away
Culloden Farmhouse
Culloden Farmhouse
#3 of 13 in Camelford
119 reviews
0.0 km away
Juliots Well Cottages
Juliots Well Cottages
#5 of 9 in Camelford
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Melorne Farm
Melorne Farm
#2 of 13 in Camelford
50 reviews
0.0 km away
Juliots Well Holiday Park
Juliots Well Holiday Park
#2 of 9 in Camelford
201 reviews
0.0 km away
Pendragon Country House
Pendragon Country House
#1 of 13 in Camelford
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Acre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Acre

Property: Kings Acre
Address: Kings Acre Trebarwith, Camelford PL32 9UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Camelford
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star gold luxury bed and breakfast. Located 5 miles from beach and pretty ports. Award winning breakfasts, fantastic en-suite wet rooms, hot-tub and sauna for exclusive use. Bedroom wing with separate entrance, old pantry for quiet moments. Ideal for that special occasion or romantic getaway. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Acre Camelford, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing