We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Jacksons Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Beautiful views of Roughtor
A romantic sunset from Trebarwith Strand
The dramatic coastline in Tintagel
The unspoiled beach in Bossiney
The mystic St. Nectans Glen
Boscastle harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camelford, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
jayne r
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a beautifully renovated barn with lovely views over the fields. The main road runs past the back of the property but it doesn't disturb you. The owners, Barry & Paula, who were very friendly hosts, have spent a lot of time & money renovating this into a spacious, clean 2 bedroom accommodation. It is within easy reach of Launceston & Newquay. I would certainly recommend this property to anyone visiting that area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No microwave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we enjoyed having you stay. Baz and Paola.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenukaMor...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I was greeted by a loaf of warm home-baked bread by my host!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The correspondence was fairly easy going and prompt from the word go. Barry, our host text us whilst we were on the motorway to check if the journey was pleasant.
When we arrived he had a loaf of home baked bread ready for us. It was the nicest gesture. We have had elaborate hampers waiting for us at some apartments but the gesture of a home baked bread beats them all.
The barn is modern with all amenities you can expect. We were on summer break with our teenagers and they were happy to have high speed broadband / wifi available.
There is a local Coop in Camelford and we usually had breakfast at the Barn and took packed lunches out for the day trips.
I would recommend the Old Jacksons Barn to friends and family. I would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wazmilo
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family home from home”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A wonderful week, enjoyed by all the family. The barn is gorgeous, very clean and has a cosy yet spacious feel through out. Baz & Paolo were extremely friendly hosts and greeted us with freshly baked bread. A great location, within easy reach of lots of local Cornish towns and harbours. We'll definitely recommend the barn to family & friends and we'd love to re-visit soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The overall quality & style of the barn
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was really nice having you to stay and we would love to have you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenny l
london
1 review
“what a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

great place on the edge of unpretentious Camelford to the north of Bodmin Moor with good walks on the moor just a stone's throw away. Easy to drive a short distance to the coast (Tintagel, Port Issac etc). Was great to find such a place to stay with a friend and 2 small dogs, with my partner being able to come and stay for some of the time within the week. Good farm shop near by, quirky couple of pubs in the town all in all a perfect place for a quiet visit to Cornwall while being near enough to the tourist attractions. Will definitely recommend and return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: combination of functionality and style
Liked least: not applicable - there was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert l
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really good cottage.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We expected to have a really good holiday through talking to Baz in booking the Barn. We arrived Saturday 10/08/13, We had a welcoming pack waiting for us. The Barn itself is well laid out and spotless, we could not complain about anything. Both Baz and Paola have worked very hard in rebuilding this Barn, and oh what a good job they've done. I would recommend this Barn to anyone who wants a quiet holiday, and would also recommend Paola's cooking, we had Lasagne and Ciabatta (Bellissimo). We have a country cottage holiday every year, but this year we have been spoilt. You can be sure that we will soon be back again.
Bob & Sandra

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing