We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Well Located”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Front of proprty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck Side of property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck
Side of property
Lounge area with dining space to rear
Lounge area with kitchen and breakfast bar to rear
Bedroom area, trying to get a good pic of the skylight it tricky!
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kerrgriff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Well Located”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Max and his family were very helpful with directions. The location was beautiful and surrounded by nice trees and landscaping. The home was very clean and had everything we needed for a pleasant stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you for your positive feedback. Best wishes, Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Alan...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“It was brilliant!”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We absolutely loved this place. The building is very well designed and the roof window above the bed made for plenty of stargazing. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay and we couldn't think of anything else we might require. Very tranquil and waking up to the birdsong is lovely. Also the rest of the wildlife including squirrels and some inquisitive pheasants and sheep in the adjoining field. Very handy for the coast and main roads to travel further into Cornwall as we did. The narrow lanes can be a challenge at first but you soon get used to them. Friendly, pleasant owners who are proud of their place - and rightly so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole country experience
Liked least: There was nothing negative for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Most Well Thought Out Layout”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Welcome on arrival by Max and introduction to facilities could not have been better.
Later he came with some freshly picked plums. They were delicious.
What a well-designed spacious apartment. The layout was comfortable with nice views to grassed areas.
Bedroom was comfortable with the big atrium type skylight adding pizazz (could be covered if so desired).
Shower had good pressure.
Approach to The Stables is along a narrow lane for .8 of a mile. Not something we as Australians were completely comfortable with. Otherwise geographic location is excellent for touring surrounding areas.
Have rated as 3 but consider it could easily be lifted to a full top level 5 if a few steps were taken.
Small moths were a problem in the place. Not sure if their natural habitat is in the general area or if they were confined to the apartment. Their presence continued throughout our stay against our best efforts to get rid of them. They need eradication.
Some spiders (and webs). Not good when a spider shares your bed while sleeping.
Overall the apartment needed a good deep clean.
Reconsider kitchen utensil items; a couple of wine glasses could help.
Parking a bit tight being in shared driveway with large motorhome.
Put aside the narrow lane access in considering the rating. So much to recommend this place.
A bit of a rethink by owner would easily, in our opinion, make this excellent value for money and deserve a top rating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Spacious well designed layout
Liked least: Moths and cleanlines
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaSharm...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Cornish getaway with all mod cons - good value”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Considerate, warm welcome and great local advice.
Open plan, airy and a wonderful afternoon/evening sun trap.
Wonderfully efficient hot water/heating system.
Tucked away down some single track lanes, but for me this was part of it's charm. Quick and convenient for Callington and a good base for driving to the coast.
Yes, lots of mini beasts came in as soon as the doors/windows were opened but this didn't bother us: after all it's the countryside! And a good indication that harsh agricultural chemicals are not in use in this area.

Liked best: We felt very comfortable here and could see the Milky Way and other constellations: it was magical...
Liked least: really hard to think of anything but if you insist I would say that the sofas and rug probably needed a bit of a going over, but too be honest that's just being nit picky.

I would love to visit here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, modern, peaceful, lots of natural light, away from the city, a great escape, our host cared that we had a good stay, good value
Liked least: Sofas and rug could have done with a bit of a clean but that's just being nit picky!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2DJT
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our second visit - says it all”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Jo and I had become parents to a baby girl only 6 weeks ago and a break was badly needed. Max - clearly a family man, arrived to welcome us all with fresh eggs and he made a fuss over baby Sarah, which was a nice start to a relaxing break. The Stables is well kitted-out with comfy sofas, children's toys, adult board games and wifi/tv, which made all the difference as we were there during the Cornish monsoon. Looe and Bude are within easy striking distance and we managed to break away during a couple of dry spells. The Stables sits on a plot next to the family home but it is discretely located away from the house and offers great privacy. Max's father and the groundsman while friendly, respect people's privacy and give plenty of space. I really do recommend The Stables to anyone who want to break away from the hurly burly of city life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your second stay with us.

Peace and love to your growing little family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing