We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
1
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini fridge local pub a wonderful stay two nights biscuits home from home full english yogurt straighteners roger cooks torch wedding toiletries chocolate tray stream
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed with roger and his wife the other week for a wedding at the green next door. The service received was impeccable, the room was comfy and well presented.
The breakfast included is amazing!! For the price we paid you could stay in the premier inn for two nights rather than three and have to pay for a mediocre breakfast on top. This was a brilliant place and we liked the personal touches like chocolate in the bedroom and home made yoghurt.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dhamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerM3439, Owner at Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate that most people only give feedback when they have complaints, we have had over 5 thousand guests stay with us over our seventeen years , but only twenty four TripAdvisor reviews. We try to give customers the stay and service that we like to receive when we stay at other guesthouses. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Sorry but we seated here for 4 nights but found the establishment very tired and lacking TLC.

First of all I was attracted to the fact they offered a hot tub but on arrival discovered this was not working.

The next interesting thing on offer was the evening meal which was no longer offered as Alison unfortunately suffers from ME which she told us has had for over 20 years!!!

This establishment is very much in the middle of the country so at least 12 miles from anywhere you may want to visit.

The house was very dark and even though we had wonderful weather we had to have the lights on.

Sorry to have to say this I was very happy to leave.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank triggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M, Owner at Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We are so sorry your stay in Cornwall was not what you anticipated, having two car accidents obviously did not help . thank you for your comments that you put in our visitors book (great breakfast ,nice room ,great hosts hospitality great)should you ever decide to come back to Cornwall we offer you a discount

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Woodpeckers in April 2018 for two nights whilst we attended a wedding at the Green (this is the closest accommodation to the venue). We were greeted so warmly by our hosts who immediately set us up with a tray of tea and coffee to enjoy in the conservatory. We stayed in the Lilac Suite which has a lovely antique four poster bed as well as a good sized room and ensuite. Our window opened on to a stream which was so peaceful to listen to at night. Everything was clean (and cleaned each morning) and we felt that everything had been thought of - tea and coffee in the room (with chocolates and biscuits), fruit, mini fridge, hair dryer, straighteners, toothbrushes and toiletries etc and even a torch for a walk to the local pub as there are no street lights as you come up the lane. Each morning Roger provided us with a fantastic breakfast - fresh fruit, cereals, homemade yoghurt, local (top of the garden!) jams and honeys as well as a full Cornish breakfast.

All in all a really lovely stay, very good value for money and we would definitely stay again if ever in the area. Thank you both!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerM3439, Owner at Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your comments it is greatly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We were welcomed by lovely hosts and shown to comfortable warm rooms providing everything we needed. Was the perfect location for a Wedding at The Green just five minutes away, and the breakfast feast was delicious and perfect to set us up for the day.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank debzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerM3439, Owner at Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Thank you Alison & Roger for another great visit! We stay at Woodpeckers approximately 4 nights every couple of months to visit an elderly relative locally. For us it is very much a home from home. We always appreciate the warm welcome, relaxed atmosphere, well equipped room and lovely extras (fruit, chocolate and selection of biscuits).

breakfast is varied and substantial, much of it locally sourced. Roger generally cooks and is very accommodating; whether you want a full english or a tasty omelette! it is no wonder, year after year Woodpeckers win an AA Breakfast award!

We have stayed at several other B&B's in the area, usually when Roger & Alison are full, but they do not offer the value for money that Woodpeckers do.

Thanks as always, look forward to staying with you soon.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerM3439, Owner at Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you Dawn and Peter we always look forward to your visits you have been staying with us for many years you both work so hard when you come to Cornwall and we try to make your stay with us as relaxing and comfortable as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews