We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, Cosy cottage:”
other travellers have booked this property
The Shippen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shippen
The enclosed drive, garden and patio with a wooden gate at the entrance. The sunny patio area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Shippen
The enclosed drive, garden and patio with a wooden gate at the entrance.
The sunny patio area.
The Shippen is the first barn on the right as you come down the lane.
Reception is at Pitt Barn, the second barn on the right as you come down the country lane.
Bodmin moor from The Shippen.
Sunset at Pitt lake. A double reflection on the lake from the solar farm.
The Shippen is behind the trees to the left of Pitt Barn.
See the moorhen with her chicks and nest of sticks.
See the mallard duck with her ducklings.
See the duckling in the garden.
Can you see the great spotted woodpecker in the tree?
See the sheep in the field beside The Shippen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Helen G
1 review
“Warm, Cosy cottage:”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The owners were friendly and helpful and we had the very thing we needed int the Shippen. It was a great location for traveling to other parts of Cornwall and we recommend the Tamar trails centre where we did the Big Zip. The Shippen was warm and comfortable with good wifi. A quiet location which was just what we wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
So pleased you enjoyed the peace and quiet of The Shippen and thank you for mentioning that our wi-fi connection is good. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to beautiful Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollyv...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in June 2016

We came here for our 1st wedding anniversary and absolutely loved it! It has everything you need and is extremely clean! Frances is lovely and such a great host.
We have now decided to return yearly to celebrate our anniversaries

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
So pleased that you would like to return annually to celebrate your wedding anniversary at The Shippen. Such a wonderful compliment. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashers123
Chalford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Visited this week after my girlfriend had a look around to see what cottages where around the Cornwall area. The Shippen and The Stables kept coming out on search results, so we decided to book. Frances (the owner) kept in touch before our stay and came around to see us on the second day. Frances was very welcoming and gave us some ideas on places to visit in the local area (much needed as the last three days has seen nothing but rain). Frances ensured that we were happy with the accommodation and was more than happy to answer any questions. The accommodation itself was as described and couldn't be faulted for its location, amenities and price. If I was being picky, a few parts of The Shippen could do with updating such as one of the sofas which had dipped in the middle and a pump to increase the power of the shower. However, for £40 per night for The Shippen, I can't fault it and this was money well spent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
So pleased you enjoyed staying at The Shippen. Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraM167...
1 review
“Perfect for my needs”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Nice quiet situation with in easy reach of Launceston and just what I needed. Accommodation is compact but has everything you need for a stay including a good wi-if service all at an excellent price. I will probably be back in Cornwall next year and the Shippen will be my first choice of accommodation.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thank you. Always great to know you enjoyed your holiday and would like to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank yo so much for your wonderful review. So pleased you want to come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing