We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Shippen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shippen
The enclosed drive, garden and patio with a wooden gate at the entrance. The sunny patio area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Shippen
The enclosed drive, garden and patio with a wooden gate at the entrance.
The sunny patio area.
The Shippen is the first barn on the right as you come down the lane.
Reception is at Pitt Barn, the second barn on the right as you come down the country lane.
Bodmin moor from The Shippen.
Sunset at Pitt lake. A double reflection on the lake from the solar farm.
The Shippen is behind the trees to the left of Pitt Barn.
See the moorhen with her chicks and nest of sticks.
See the mallard duck with her ducklings.
See the duckling in the garden.
Can you see the great spotted woodpecker in the tree?
See the sheep in the field beside The Shippen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jakele125
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a little getaway at the end of March and it was ideal! It's far enough from anything to sleep in peace, but not too far that you feel isolated (you will need a car though). France's is such a lovely host and is so knowledgable about the area and was happy to recommend where we could go. Will definitely stay here again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Shippen. We are always happy to talk to our guests as Cornwall is so beautiful. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodie35
west midlands england
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from the Shippen barn, for my husbands 65th Birthday. Lovely peaceful place and very clean. Frances is an excellent host and very informative for places to visit. Frances even bought my husband a birthday card which was a lovely touch. We visited the Shippen last year and again this year because it is so relaxing and private. We will be returning again in the near future. Thanks Frances and Colin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
So very kind, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your return visit to The Shippen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jafoster
Stafford
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent !!!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The owners are lovely and the accomodation was perfect. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Shippen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cottage had everything you would need, very neat. Also owner extremely friendly. Would love to spend more time there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at The Shippen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye J
Rhyll, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just left The Shippen. We really enjoyed our three night stay and wish we had booked for longer. There were many interesting places within driving distance including Bodmin Moor, Portsmith, Padstow, Mousehole, St Michael's Mount and Port Issac ( Doc Martin's Village). You need a car to reach shops etc. but being on a quiet lane adds to the experience. The cottage was difficult to find so make sure you get good instructions. It's worth the hunt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and friendliness of owners
Liked least: Driving on narrow roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
So pleased you had a wonderful time both at The Stable and in Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing