We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
109
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art school an excellent teacher welcoming hosts wonderful hospitality enjoyable stay many thanks artists studio peter guidance inspiring cornwall laughter pub cosy
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Recently stayed at lower house a lovely bed and breakfast, nice large bedrooms and so much character through the hole house. The breakfast was superb definitely 5 star +. Will definitely be booking again

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank leeanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

An art course at Lower House is a much anticipated treat. Tessa and Peter are kind and welcoming hosts and each day is well-planned to make best use of the time in a relaxed and enjoyable way. Excellent tuition and studio facilities plus trips to interesting locations, delicious food and plenty of laughter makes for an inspiring and encouraging week. This was my third visit and I’m hoping to return again soon.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Caledonia1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

What a find. In Callington on a family trip down memory lane and from the moment we arrived we were extended the warmest of welcomes. Peter is a very accomplished cook and both evening meals and breakfasts were first class and round table dining with our hosts and fellow guests most enjoyable. Highly recommended and we would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Rooms: cosy, clean, comfortable with excellent showers and individual character, as my third stay I felt I had come home
Food: Excellent, high quality ingredients combined with a brilliant cook - I would highly recommend elasticated waistbands as saying no is impossible
Callington: friendly village with a good pub up the road - excellent location to visit a host of beautiful locations
The hosts: warm, entertaining, helpful
Art course: Tessa is an excellent teacher, regardless of your experience of medium she will help you to see your strengths and give you a direction to improve your weaknesses - I have gone from a complete beginner to exhibiting artist in 3 years with her guidance. The locations are incredibly beautiful and special. The studio has a wonderful atmosphere and is very well equipped.

Room tip: Only a few rooms and I believe only two have double beds.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Nicky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We were looking for a place to stay in, Callington, Cornwall,
we were not having much luck........for some reason........trying to book at the last minute.....
but thank heavens for Peter & Tessa, at The Lower House Guest House......said they were closed for the week, as they had, been busy the weeks previous, as they run a "Art School", but were kind enough to take us in.....for which we thank you, and we were not disappointed,
very clean, great location, and whats more.......fantastic, beautiful, English breakfast, and they're very helpful and informative

Room tip: Rooms were brilliant, clean, great breAKFAST
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wabalingo1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews