We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and location”
Review of The Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and location”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Having stayed at both the Harrison Hotel and the Warren Hotel I decided to try the Anchor instead, despite some of the reviews recently posted on tripadvisor.

I found the single room with ensuite bathroom to be very small but clean. No hairdrier available so take your own if staying here. The breakfast was good and staff very pleasant. I liked the fact that, unlike the other two hotels I had tried, there was a fairly lively main bar and an adjacent comfortable quieter room to read and have a drink.

Will be staying here again in future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186525Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    87
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
55
81
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Groombridge, Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

It was a nice hotel, food was excellent. Room was at the top of the hotel, dirty carpets with lots of dust, the bed was old but comfy, but had a nasty stain down the sides!! TV in room, hairdryer, T, Coffee making facilities were nice. I would definitely stay there again as I did not have a problem with it being slightly dusty. If I had paid £100 a night I would have complained to the Manager!! and not gone back again. Car parking was a bit of a pain tho' but did not have a problem with noise from the local pub kicking out.
MBJ - Groombridge

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

A group of us stayed at the Anchor Hotel to attend a seminar at the end of October. Although they mentioned that breakfast was from 7am to 10am' the breakfast chef did not arrive until nearly 8am when the minibus had already departed and only people with their own transport could have cooked breakfast. The breakfast buffett was very limited.

My room was tiny with a very old fashioned portable 15" TV, which I could not use because I had no remote control in the bedroom. My shower room needed updating and the grouting especially near the floor was nearly black. IN DESPERATE NEED OF UPDATING, but very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask the size of the room; my single room was just a box room and a little bigger than a broom cupboa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

the staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel downstairs has some quaint rooms with historical influences like the wooden room

accommodation - old tired looking and noisy, i turned up in the afternoon and thought this is lovely, a nice quiet area and quite quaint. WRONG night time arrives and the pub opposite has live music which inst a problem, however people seem to spend time in the streets making very loud noses and singing - this went on until 2-3 am and i had poor quality sleep even with ear plugs in.

now i know this isn't the hotels fault but is you want a good nights sleep then i wouldn't pick this hotel. all said and done i stayed the Sunday night and come midnight everything was nice and quiet.

overall i would class this a s a budget hotel in need of money updating the rooms.

on a plus side the food is excellent.

Room Tip: ask for a room away fro the street or better yet stay in the sister hotel across the road.they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dez s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to hear that my staff continue to be friendly and helpful. We pride ourself on our service and we try to make all our guest feel welcome.

It is a shame that the pub over the road spoiled your nights sleep. We are a quiet part of the world and it is a shame that sometimes outside influences can ruin this.

Also let me thank you for commenting on our food. We have an excellent reputation for our excellent food and it is always nice when the effort we put in is commented on.

I agree that some of our rooms are looking a little tired. We continue to ensure that they are kept clean and have all the facilities you need. We have started updating some of the decor and hope you will return soon to see what has been done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed for a night away at the weekend and for the price, found this hotel reasonable. Staff were friendly, great location. Yes the walls were thin and noise between rooms is an issue, and the rooms could do with quite a bit of updating..but ours seemed clean and had everything we'd need/expect for the rate paid. Small though. Had the full English breakfast which was nice. Would recommend if you are looking for a base for 1 or 2 nights in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you Theresa for taking the time to write on here. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try our hardest to provide value for money and keep our rooms clean and well maintained. We have plans to update some of the rooms and have already made a start.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 km away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.7 km away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
4.0 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Property: The Anchor Hotel
Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price range (per night): $85 - $149
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Shepperton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing