We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookery lesson and lunch ”
Review of Caldesi Campagna

Caldesi Campagna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Fantastic day spent learning to cook as a family with the wonderful Giancarlo Caldesi , followed by a totally delicious lunch.

While we were involved in preparing what we ate and had a visit inside the kitchen the food was exceptional and the service warm and attentive.

Even the lady I booked our day with On the phone (Angela) was warm, kind and helpful.

A delightful business with a real family feel that makes guests very welcome and (importantly) creates sensational food.

The white wine we had with lunch was delicious too.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank dharmerwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesD6735, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi dharmerwilliams,

Thank you for your kind review. I passed your comments to both Giancarlo and Angela and they were delighted.

Best regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

What can I say?
From the minute you walk through the door to the minute you leave, you are welcomed like an old friend... warm, friendly and inviting.
The staff are absolutely fabulous... from the maitre de who welcomes you on arrival, tI the bar staff and the waiting staff..... absolutely wonderful.
It’s a beautiful setting too. We were quite a large party, being 8 of us and we were sat at a table near the door opposite the bar. It was almost like having a private dining room to ourselves. Yes people were leaving and a few arrived, but we weren’t disturbed by this at all.
We had nearly all had different starters... I
Had tuna carpaccio with fennel and orange... it was divine. The tuna melted in the mouth and the orange and fennel was a match made in heaven with the tuna. Everyone one else was impressed with the starters, from the cheese timballo to the slow cooked calamari and of course the selection of homemade breads provided.
Then the main courses.... I had calf’s liver with mash potatoes.... oh my, it was melt in the mouth good. Beautifully seasoned liver and mash. A mix of sides were provided and the chilli infused green beans were a delight. Again everyone was delighted with their mains... homemade pastas with truffles or ricotta and Spinach were a hit as was the duck, steak and fish dishes.
Dessert..... donuts .... lots of donuts with dipping pots of sambucca jam and custard.
The wine my husband chose was a white wine, one of the cheapest on the menu and it was extremely nice. Very good for £35.
For for 8 of us, with starters, mains, 5 desserts, numerous gin and tonics, rums, a few mocktails
And 2 bottles of wine for 8 people the bill came in at £600 (ish) inc service.
Giancarlo your restaurant and your staff are a credit to you. Keep doing what you’re doing and I will keep returning.
This wasn’t our first visit and it certainly won’t be our last.
If you want a fab night out with delicious food, wonderful service and a big smile from the man himself..... get yourself down to Caldesi Campagna in Bray, but dont tell everyone - it’s our secret

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesD6735, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Annie-Marie C,

Thank you for such a great review!

Please don't keep us too much of a 'secret'!

We are really so very happy that we hit the spot in terms of delivering a memorable meal for your celebration and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review - it really makes a difference and our team we're delighted to have played a role in your celebration.

Best regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

We had a excellent dinner at Caldesi Campagna this evening. The sea bass ravioli was superb followed by delicious pan fried calf's liver, with excellent wine.
The welcome and service was first class.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cobeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesD6735, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi cobeco,

Thanks for the review. It's always great and a massive boost to the team to read such positive words.

We are very appreciative.

Best regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Caldesi is still a hidden gem. 8 of us for a family celebration and inevitably everyone ordered different dishes but still everything arrives together and in good time and it’s all gorgeous.

The quality is superb. The service is the perfect balance of attentive without being obtrusive. The Chef Patron Giancarlo is on hand to meet and greet diners with a warm welcome and friendly chats.

If I ran a restaurant, this is how I’d do it.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank clevorfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesD6735, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi clevorfc,

We loved reading your review.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive words - it really is a boost for our whole team when we read such lovely reviews.

Best regards

James d

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

An unplanned return visit to the place i used to live took us on impulse to Caldesi in Campagna.
Despite not booking in advance we were warmly welcomed and chose to have the lunch menu of the day. Everthing was quite delicious, classic Italian cuisine with friendly and professional service. The bill was small and we left vowing to return - thank you Signor Caldesi.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesD6735, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hi Jean J,

So happy to read you had a wonderful time at Caldesi in Campagna and took advantage of our set lunch menu which we believe offers excellent value for money.

Everyone on the team at Campagna are really happy to read you positive and affirming words.

Best regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caldesi Campagna also viewed

Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 

Been to Caldesi Campagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing