We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of Caldesi Campagna

Caldesi Campagna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We returned to this restaurant after a fairly long break and were not disappointed. The exceptional standard of food and service have been maintained . We received a warm welcome from the maitre and were shown to our table with a minimum of fuss. Unfortunately, we had made a late reservation, so had a table in the bar area .Not a great problem, but it was close to the front door. The service was excellent - despite the restaurant being full, it was efficient and swift. The wine list is good and the waiter knowledgeable about the wines. We chose to eat from the set menu which had good choices. The calves liver was melt in the mouth - served with spinach and mashed potato. As I have an allergy to black pepper, the mash , which contained black pepper,was served on the side which was very thoughtful. Although I never ate it, it looked fluffy and very good. The pan fried hake was also well cooked. We had some complimentary bread and olive oil and balsamic vinegar whilst waiting. I chose the linguine with mussels ,prawns and squid as my starter . Once again, a sauce was made for me excluding the ubiquitous black pepper and chilli. I did not have any dessert - pretty standard fare in an Italian restaurant - tiramisu; profiteroles etc. My companion had the ice cream - 3 different flavours - which were declared excellent. The coffee was very good and the bill was ,for Bray, very reasonable .A 12 1/2% service charge is added to the bill and I think the staff deserve every bit of it!! Superb services and excellent food .I won't wait as long before going back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargaretH1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Margaret H,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It always makes us very happy and puts a spring in our step to read such lovely words.

Best regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Went to the apres-ski themed evening. £42 a head for 4 courses of very small portions and pretty poor food. £6.50 for a glass of mulled wine and £4.50 for a coffee on top - rip off!

Thank PNB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear PNB51,

We we're shocked and saddened by your comments as our aim is always just to ensure all our customers have a wonderful time and leave satisfied. The Apres Ski event was a great success and Giancarlo Caldesi was there all night going around the tables chatting and making sure people were happy. If only you had said at the time that you felt your portions were too small (a comment we didn't have from any of the other 58 attendees) then Giancarlo would of absolutely ensured you would have been served more. As far as pricing for red wine I think you'll find a glass of wine in any local pub will cost more £than £6.50 and mulled wine (which we made in house) has to be 'mulled' carefully with the spices so it's not just as simple as opening a bottle. We also think £4.50 for a coffee is not expensive when you think most takeaway coffees at petrol stations cost over £3.00 and ours is a premium roasted Italian coffee which we freshly grind and serve in china to your table with accompanying biscotti.

It is never our intention to do anything our utmost to deliver value and quality to our customers which is why on this occasion we feel that your criticism is unfounded and I will reiterate that we wish you'd voiced your disappointment on the night when we had the chance to do something about it.

Yours sincerely

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

My wife and I recently attended the Venetian experience cookery course in Caldesi, Campagne in Bray hosted by Giancarlo.

This is a great course, very well prepared with wonderful in depth knowledge (and humour) through three hours of preparation, to then sit down for lunch with others in the party for two hours to enjoy the amazing food we had all been part of in preparing.

Very enjoyable experience all round.

Paul

1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Paul,

Thanks for your lovely comments. I've passed them on to Giancarlo who is very happy to know that you enjoyed the course and hopes to see you again soon.

Best regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We are occasional regulars at Caldesi which is hidden away from Bray's High Street and we have never been disappointed. The welcome is always effusive, neither stuffy nor over familiar and we settled down to enjoy an excellent, if pricey, Gin Mare and tonic.
There's a very reasonably priced fixed menu offering a couple of choices for each course but we went off piste and chose a la carte.
It's fair to say that every mouthful was a delight. Starters of antipasto and lightly smoked salmon carpaccio were generous and beautifully presented. Our mains of veal parcels with peccorino and a duo of lamb were both superb - to be picky the roast potatoes might have been past their best, but the meat, sauces and seasoning were all top class. The food was complemented by a good choice of wines by the glass.
Greedily we squeezed in some dessert, including a wonderful marsala and fig cake with vanilla creme
Service was unobtrusive, polite and friendly. Caldesi will always be our 'Special One'.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foryourconvenience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hi Foryourconvenience,

Thank you for your kind words. It's so good to know we're your 'Special One' and that our truly authentic Italian regional cookery hits the spot with you. I'll make sure chef knows to keep an eye on his roasties!

It's always a great lift to the team to read such positive reviews so thank you once again and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Amazing food, ambiance, service. It's not often you get Italian fine dining, but this restaurant was lovely. it had the edge in terms of the fantastic variety of tastes (the lobster ravioli was beautiful, plus I had the calves liver main) - but also the fine décor peppered with subtle personal touches from the chef's Italian heritage made it more authentic. I would definitely recommend it for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank WimbledonExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Caldesi Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear WimbledonExplorers

Thanks for your lovely review... you made our day!

Best regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caldesi Campagna also viewed

Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Old Windsor, Windsor
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Caldesi Campagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing