We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling ”
Review of The Chinese Buffet

The Chinese Buffet
Ranked #193 of 424 Restaurants in Bury
Price range: USD 9 - USD 18
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016. We have venues in Bolton Preston Wigan Halifax Bury Wakefield Wrexham Bradford Blackpool St Helens
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I visited this buffet on Thursday 05th April 2018 at around 19:45 (which is 2 1/4 hours before closing). The food trays were either empty or had been sitting around for hours and were over cooked and dried up. It was so bad I wasn’t prepared to waste my money and left. To be fair to the staff the waiter was lovely and tried to resolve the issue by asking which dishes I would like replenished and his supervisor was equality respectful but as this is a buffet my answer would be all of the dishes and that was unlikely to happen and even if it did it would take a considerable about of time.

My advise to anyone reading this review is to avoid this place as if tonight’s visit is representative of how this place operates then I am confident you will not enjoy eating here.

1  Thank HolidayGuyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience, I would like to assure you that we strive to replenish dishes as quickly as possible and this isn't our usual level of service, I will pass your comments back to the manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

After visiting chinese buffets around lancashire we decided to try bury at last as we had heard ood ratings about it. We went at 12.15 on saturday launch and there was about 20 people in.Couldn't believe the lack of choice of food, especially if you are a vegetarian as my daughter is it was awful. apart from one very dried pork and one beef dish 90% of everything else was chicken. Nearly every item was luke warm some even cold they only thing hot we had was noodles and rice. ended up just visting table once and leaving 70% on plate as i hate food that isnt hot. Went to the dessert counter which in fair comment looked very nice only to be told all mousses, jellys trifle etc contained beef gelatine and wasnt suitable for vegetarians so my daughter had a banana and one very thin slice of cheesecake. We tried to tell the manageresswhen we paid that the food wasnt an accepatable temperature but she wasn't interested and was very rude. Needless to say we will never go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank diane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't feel you enjoyed your recent experience, we pride ourselves on offering a selection of dishes to suit all changes so we're sorry you didn't feel you experienced this during your visit. I would like to assure you that all of our dishes are cooked and served well within the FSA guidelines however we do understand that some customers may prefer dishes hotter. I will feed all of your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We visited for the lunch buffet, this is great value for money. We enjoyed the food, there was plenty of options. I had a mocktail which was lovely. You forget you are in the middle of Bury whilst you sip a mocktail surrounded by lovely decor, eating lovely chinese food. The staff were friendly and attentive. The dessert selection was great. Limited as it was lunch time but still enough choice. Everything was delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Smaybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed dining with us for lunch recently and found lots of dishes to choose from! Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Don't often do a negative review but this place was very disappointing. Went in for dinnertime buffet, found a less than half-hearted choice, large place but choice you would get in a small street corner buffet. Price should be no more than 6.50, the 8.99 is well over the top for what you get.

Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't feel you enjoyed dining with us for lunch recently, we pride ourselves in the quality of our dishes. I have passed your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

I have just had the pleasure of paying £28 for the delight of eating dryed out chicken wings and what can only be described as greasy mess that should be prawn toast. When it came to the main course all that was available was kung po chicken, noodles and chips. The desert consisted of ice cream cones but no ice cream. The drinks had extra protein in the way of literal flys in the orange juice. I did complain and was insulted when she gave me 10% off my bill. I have been to this restaurant many times but it's the last time for me.

2  Thank Vickyancell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us recently. We pride ourselves on the quality of our dishes so we're sorry you didn't feel you experienced this. I have passed your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chinese Buffet also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing