We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy....”
Review of The Brown Cow

The Brown Cow
Ranked #7 of 31 Quick Bites in Bury
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Some decent food served in a compact setting - somewhere to eat if you’ve been walking, camping next door or watching the trains pass by.

One dish I do recommend is the house burger (can’t remember the exact name) - fully loaded with bacon, cheese and onion rings! My partner really enjoyed her black pudding too.
Desserts are probably the weaker aspect of the menu; the “Bakewell Tart” sponge and jam roly poly are really similar, while I expected more from the chocolate fudge pudding.

The toilets could do with sorting out as well.
Service was ok - did have to remind them about the side of onion rings we ordered.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank NickB97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018

We know the 'Brown Cow' from times we lived over in that area, so as we had our campervan on the adjacent Caravan and Motorhome Club site, decided to visit for a meal after we had got our unit sorted out.
As it was a Friday evening, we expected it to be busy and it was. However we found a nice quiet table in the corner and we began to peruse the varied menu.
A typical pub grub choice, each dish sounding mouth-watering good. !

I had the Cumberland sausage ring, chips, peas and gravy. My Wife had homemade Steak and Kidney pudding, mushy peas, chips.
Very generous portions, which sadly, we failed to empty our plates.

The service was quick, the meals were delicious and the atmosphere warm, friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Called in for a pint shortly after arriving on site, whilst we read leaflets etc relating to Bury. The cask ale was well kept. We decided to return for our evening meal. We had homemake steak and ale pie. It was hard to imagine how they could fit any more meat into the dish. It was delicious and good value for money. It came with carrots and peas or beans and choice of potatoes. It would have been nice to have had a greater selection of vegetables, but it was very nice even so. We will be back when next we visit the caravan site.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank TripperLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

The Brown Cow delivered pretty much what we expected.

Honest pub grub with no frills attached.

The food was tasty, served hot and for 4 people each having 2 courses, including steak and a mixed grill, the bill was less than £70 including tip.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Janca2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Called in for lunch. Food ok. Expected better. The chicken in gravy topped with stuffing baguette was truly awful. More like a pale sloppy stuffing baguette with hidden chicken. The gammon and jacket was nice good portion and lovely cut of meat. The bbq pulled pork muffin was average. Would visit pub again. Good stopping place after walk. Staff friendly. But wouldnt recommend food.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank jjjuliebbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brown Cow also viewed

 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Brown Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing