We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
220
132
40
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
132
40
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course golf break leisure facilities swimming pool golf club golf society steam room golfing weekend round of golf pro shop excellent facilities bar prices upgraded to a suite lady golfers buffet breakfast great weekend pool table
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We have just returned from a weekend golfing break at The Wiltshire and although the weather did its best to spoil things we had a great time, thanks to the golf we were able to play despite the efforts of Storm Jackie, and the friendliness of the hotel staff. A young team who were very helpful and accommodating. The food in the restaurant and the bar was very good and certainly good value.
Our rooms were clean and large enough. The swimming area was pleasant enough but perhaps could benefit from a little attention, just to make it more attractive if you wanted to spend an afternoon there.
For golfers, despite the rain, both courses were playable and in very good condition. It's on clay, so inevitably there was some casual water, but very little on the greens.
My only gripe about the hotel was that it was a little cold in the public areas, particularly the sports room.
If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere with good service, The Wiltshire would be a very good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie_Treehorn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

I am so pleased to read your lovely review, and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather! Our team strives to ensure that each guest experience is a delightful one and we appreciate your kind comments and feedback on the service, facilities, restaurant and golf course. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Golfing weekend with pals. Nice clean rooms and good food all round. Nice course and plenty of car park space.
Staff friendly and very reasonable price for drink and the accommodation .
We would defiantly go back next year.
Thanks very much for a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank johnmover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback and share your experience of The Wiltshire! We will definitely pass on your comments to our team who will be pleased to hear about your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

My wife and I stayed over the weekend. We didn't golf but used the hotel as a base for walking around Wiltshire. The hotel is clean and functional but could use a bit of dolling up.

The room was clean and average size, not much in the way of décor.

Pool, Jacuzzi, sauna etc. all work but the pool area looks more like your council's leisure centre than what you'd expect from a spa. Still, after a long day of hiking we appreciated the luxury of a sauna and a good soak.

We found all staff courteous and attentive, and restaurant and bar prices were reasonable.

Wifi didn't work in our room (weak, intermittent signal) but we had our own connection so not much of an issue

Room Tip: wifi might not work in all rooms
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Luca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, and your kind comments on the staff are much appreciated. I am sorry you had difficulties with the Wi-Fi during your stay, interfering signal from properties nearby sometimes causes this to drop off. We hope to welcome you back to The Wiltshire again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

my two daughter and my sons girlfriend and i went for a pamper session 3 of us had massages and one had a nails done,it was a lovely experience,i had never had a massage before but i will definatly go again.we did this as we are greiving for a husband and father who passed away 5 wks ago and today would have been his birthday,so it was a way to take our minds off it ,the staff were amazing,so friendly and it was a realaxing and positive experience.We then went for lunch in the resturant and again the service was lovely the food was lovely and just made a lovely finish the out afternoon.We will definately go again.and it was very resonably priced.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Gail C, thank you so much for taking the time to post your very kind feedback - especially during what must be a difficult time for you and your family. Your wonderful comments on the staff, facilities and food are much appreciated, and I am so pleased that your experience was relaxing and positive. We hope you will visit us again soon, and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We stayed for a ball. Room was lovely and good value, although a little too warm. Pool is small but adequate (note that half is often portioned off for lessons). Shallow childrens area too.

Function room looked fantastic for our ball and the food was very good.

Staff in the bar are great.

Only disappointment was breakfast. On our first morning we came down to find very little hot food at all and had to wait for sausages, etc to appear.

On the second morning, there was no sign of the "fresh fruit daily" and the only yoghurts available were rhubarb. Having to order your eggs is an interesting challenge - at what point do you order to ensure that they are warm and at the same time as the rest of your breakfast? Personally as well mine were not good - still raw on the first day, hard boiled on the second!

Suggest that the hotel reviews breakfast or at least ensures that there is enough for the number of people staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Wiltshire and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. I am very sorry that breakfast on both days was a let down. It was fairly busy over the weekend, and it is possible that as many of the guests came down at the same time we ran out of some items on the first day. We have discussed the lack of yoghurts and fruits with the chef on duty and will be more aware of this going forward. We hope you will stay with us again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews