We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place but the traffic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Large ground floor double bedroom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large ground floor double bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Large ground floor double bedroom.
Cozy sitting room.
Dining area....
Full bathroom...fluffy dressing gowns  and towels included.
Dresser in kitchen.
Fully equipped, practical layout.
Use of garden.
Garden views of River Og.
The main garden at Tresco House.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marlborough, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wander671...
1 review
“Great place but the traffic!”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Tresco House is in what appeared to be a sleepy hamlet of Obgbourne St Andrew near Marlborough. Accommodation was very nice, well presented and clean. Amanda (the owner) was lovely and helpful. Apart from the limited number of towels (one per person which appears to be the norm in England) it was a great place with good amenities. However, the cottage was reached by a very short drive off a busy road (one car length) and the traffic was constant day and night. Whilst the walls of the cottage muted the noise, the draft from large vehicles could be felt in the reverberating walls. We did get used to this - it wasn't bad enough to stop us sleeping - the real problem was getting in and out of the driveway without hitting oncoming traffic. If you're a confident driver or used to the conditions, probably not a drama. For us - it took a lot of getting used to. That said, it was a good place to stay and central to Stonehenge, Hungerford, bath and Salisbury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and security
Liked least: Traffic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed the Cottage accommodation and convenient location for visiting several tourist sites.
I appreciate that if you are visiting from abroad, that English roads are busy! We have gone to some lengths to insulate the Cottage against external noise, and this generally appears effective.
The Village are installing a new traffic calming scheme this month which should alleviate both traffic related concerns.
As regards the towels..... my apologies. This was an oversight. I usually leave at least 6 towels and have stacks of them.....always ask!
I hope you had a safe trip home.
Best wishes,
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanOSull...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely idyllic cottage, great hospitality, excellent value”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just spent a lovely Christmas at the Courtyard Cottage, Tresco House. We were looking for a cosy apartment/cottage where we could unwind and recuperate and Tresco House fitted the bill. The owners - Amanda and Peter - are very hospitable and welcoming, including a breakfast hamper of eggs, milk, jam and bread. The cottage itself is nicely decorated, well maintained and very comfortable. We wanted to cook our own christmas meal and the kitchen had more than an adequate supply of pots, pans, utensils, corckery etc. The cottage is about a mile and a half from Marlborough so we had good access to restaurants, shops and places of interests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation was very comfortable
Liked least: Access to the cottage was a bit tricky as it is directly on the main road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a really comfortable stay in the Courtyard Cottage. Amanda made us feel very welcome and gave lots of helpful advice about good places to eat and walks nearby. The accommodation is very high standard. We highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade M
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home with added luxury and comfort”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A wonderful retreat that offered so much from a self-contained apartment, from the fluffy towels, DVDs and books, breakfast goodies, the secret garden to relax in and watch the sun go down, a good local pub, close to so much to see and do and such welcoming owners that could not do enough to ensure we had everything we needed.

The self-contained apartment had a well equipped modern kitchen, large bathroom and a cosy lounge/diner and a beautiful light double bedroom with the most comfortable bed.

Through the garden you could reach the ridgeway and Marlborough town was only a few minutes drive away- the weekend we stayed was the Jazz festival and the town was a hive of activity, with plenty of pubs and shops.

A great location and great accommodation which felt like home from home with the added luxury and comfort. We will certainly go back to stay.
Jade & Marc

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was a self-contained apartment and nice to have your own space but well catered for by the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing