We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would return as soon as I could”
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
 The Manse, a gorgeous cottage in the centre of Marlborough but tucked away in a very quiet area. The garden is small but gets plenty of sun. It has a bench seat, table and chairs for four.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
The Manse, a gorgeous cottage in the centre of Marlborough but tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is small but gets plenty of sun. It has a bench seat, table and chairs for four.
Small but perfectly formed!
McCarron kitchen/Miele appliances. The kitchen is small but has all you need for an enjoyable stay.
The main living/dining area. A bright sunny room with two comfy sofas.
Sitting room with french doors to the garden
The dining room seats four comfortably.
Master Bedroom with king size bed and plenty of storage space.
Master bedroom with dual aspect
Master bedroom
The second bedroom has a double bed and wardrobe/drawers.
Second bedroom
Main shower room with enclosed shower, basin and w/c. There is also a separate w/c and basin.
Shower room, with shower, basin and toilet. There is also a separate w/c and basin.
In the Spring we often have extra visitor's!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marlborough, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheila D
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would return as soon as I could”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful


“The Manse” is charmingly decorated with everything possible that one would require to make ones stay comfortable - all in smooth working order and it is immaculately clean. The colorful little garden, with parking for one car, adds to the pleasure of one’s stay.

This delightful home is tucked away below the main Marlborough road, fairly close to the Kennet River, so there is very little traffic noise. A beautiful walk next to the river takes one a matter of minutes to reach convenience stores on the main road e.g. Waitrose.

Additionally, and a big plus the neighbors - launch your stay off with a most comprehensive walk-through on arrival. This makes for quick familization of your new surroundings. - conveniently saving precious holiday time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Thankyou so much for the lovely review. We were so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at the house and when you make a return visit to the UK hope to see you again. You were the perfect guests and we really enjoyed meeting you.
With very best wishes
Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bojana27
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect little cottage”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We came over just for a sightseeing weekend. The cottage is central so everything is around the corner from cafes, pub, restaurants and take away. This was handy as it poured it the whole weekend. The kids loved it though and amazingly wanted to stay in rather than get cabin fever.

Jonathan turned the heating on for us in advance and showed us where everything was and how it functioned. He is very handy to have next door! Sue communicated everything in advance.

We did eventually manage to make it out for a wander and even made it down to Avebury which was nice. Despite the weather I would recommend coming to this part of the country and would stay in The Mense again for sure. Thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay, despite the dreadful weather! Thankyou for your wonderful review and for leaving the house in such good order; always very much appreciated. We are very lucky to have Jonathan and Diane next door to look after the house and our guests for us. They do a brilliant job.
There is so much to see and do in the area, so if you would like to make a return visit at any time we'd be really happy to hear from you.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C
1 review
“Perfect location for Marlborough”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We arrived at the Manse on Christmas eve, Jonathan was waiting. The cottage was lovely and warm and cosy. The Christmas lights were on. It was just perfect, Absolutely immaculate.
Perfect position to walk into town. We loved it. We stayed for three night whilst visiting friend in the area. Jonathan could not have been more helpful. We would definitely stay here again. It was a real treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and size of rooms
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so lucky to have Jonathan and Diane next door and they do a fantastic job looking after both our guests and the house. So pleased that you had such an enjoyable Christmas and if you would like to make a return visit at any time we'd be really happy to hear from you.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBeach
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This property is located in a quiet location close to lovely shops and restaurants. Stayed for a few days over the Christmas break and felt very 'at home' there. Was greated and shown round by the lovely neighbours. Happy to have seen the new year in in Marlborough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thankyou so much for your great review. We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Marlborough and if you would like to make another visit in the future we'd be really happy to hear from you. Marlborough is a very special market town with a great atmosphere and there are many events going on there throughout the year.
We look forward to hearing from you again.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean s
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Sisters weekend away”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Have now visited the lovely manse 3 times for weekends away with my sisters. We choose the manse originally as it was equal distance for us. But keep going back as it is just superb. The manse has everything you need, very well equipped and has always been extremely clean. Johnathon is a great extra. Always there if you need him, helpful, funny and cheerful. The lovely market town of Marlborough is perfect, and just a 3 minute walk from the manse. Plenty of great places to eat if you don't fancy cooking. Have booked already to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
So pleased that you all had another enjoyable stay at The Manse and thankyou for the lovely review. You're absolutely right Jonathan and Diane are a real bonus and we are so lucky to have their help. Thankyou for leaving the house in such good order when you left, it is very much appreciated. I have provisionally booked in your dates for next year and will contact you in the new year.
Have a great Christmas.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing