We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
763
141
38
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
141
38
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu le mazot swiss chalet private cinema afternoon tea salt scrub martin burge michelin star upgraded to a suite main restaurant special treat moment you arrive the general manager beautiful hotel highest standard drawing room english countryside
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 965 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Our room was truly amazing. The bed was a dream that we wanted to take home with us. Cleanliness overall was second to none.
The Spa was wonderful, the treatments and staff in the spa were friendly and professional. Overall, all the staff at Whatley Manor were excellent and attentive. The waiting staff in the dining room were particularly helpful and kind.
What a gorgeous Manor House this is. One night did not give us enough time to explore everything and I’m sure we missed out on the stunning gardens because we stayed far too long enjoying the spa facilities!
The only problem we had with our stay was with the tasting menu. It seems completely out of context to the rest of the experience. We understand food, we enjoy trying new things but we simply did not enjoy some of the courses offered and that was a huge disappointment. The cooking was outstanding but the taste of some of these courses, not so much.
Breakfast was superb. Perfect food and perfect ingredients completed our lovely stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

The room was spacious and we were overlooking the back gardens.
We had the chefs tasting menu which was exciting and delicious. The staff were very knowledgable about all the courses and were very patient with all our questions. This is an exciting young chef and his food is complimented by the excellent wine pairing recommended by the sommelier including some local English wines.
Staff and service is professional and friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ThePrices03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We have always raved about this place and recommended it to all our friends both nationally and internationally, but our latest visit recently was not as polished as we’ve expected over the years. We booked for lunch as an anniversary celebration, and arrived early so that we could have a quiet glass of wine in the lounge. Escorted by reception staff to our seats, but waited a good 10 minutes in a virtually empty room with two barmen chatting at the bar before anyone came to take our order. VERY surly and unhelpful waiter who knew nothing about the wine list and wasn’t going to find out, finally cajoled into getting our wine. Served without customary coasters. Noted. Food and service in the restaurant very good, and very much up to expectations with the refurb in restaurant very tasteful and welcoming. Coffee in the lounge lovely and relaxing. Overall very nice, but I have to say that given what we’ve experienced here with exemplary service over the last few years, a little disappointing.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank carroll b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, General Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

It is so disappointing to read your feedback and please accept our apologies that this was your experience.

Please be assured I will be speaking to these individuals who know better. It is far from the norm at Whatley as the team care to get it right for our guests. We will keep up the training and supervision. Yours sincerely, Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

5 years since we've been, but a welcome return to the peace and quiet of Whatley for a couple of days. Service as good as ever and the spa treatments we had were excellent. My only criticism would be a lack of reasonably priced wine in the restaurant, but otherwise very enjoyable. Liked the refurbished brasserie.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Beautiful setting and the scene is set as soon as you drive up the sweeping driveway, with the electric gates opening into a beautiful courtyard and the concierge there to welcome you and drive the car off. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you. The spa is fabulous and the rooms gorgeous. We ate in the Dining room on Saturday night and had the 12 course tasting menu and wines, very expensive but so worth it, the food was divine. Definitely highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank C0l0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews