We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage in a good location”

Review of Mount View Cottage

Courtyard Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard Entrance
Front Entrance View from Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Courtyard Entrance
Front Entrance
View from Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LondonDim...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in a good location”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed our break at Mount View cottage, Sarah was a friendly and obliging host and we could not find fault with the cottage facilities. The cottage is in an ideal spot for visiting other places and we even walked to Devizes through some lovely woodland. After hunting on the internet we discovered the opening hours for the 'local' pub only to discover they did not serve food on a Monday (the day we arrived) which was a bit of a disappointment. Maybe some more up-to-date information (eg leaflets) in the cottage would be a good idea.

We will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very clean and comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review and comments regarding the cottage, it's great you enjoyed the local area as well. We are going to update the local information and leaflets in the cottage and include more details about the local pubs and restaurants. Thanks again and look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fergus201...
Chengdu
2 reviews
“Idyllic stay in the countryside.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Superb place! We stayed almost a week in this cottage outside Devizes because it is located between many attractions (Bath, Oxford, Salisbury, Stonehenge....). So glad we did. The cottage is beautiful, newly renovated, very comfy beds and has everything you need. The main bedroom has a lovely view over green rolling hills. Devizes itself is a great little town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased that you liked the cottage and also found it convenient for exploring the area. After completing the renovations earlier this year its great to get feedback like yours. Kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperite
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Very convenient cottage in Wiltshire close to Devizes.”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Mountview Cottage in Potterne for 12 nights. Sarah is a charming hostess and her cottage was tastefully decorated, clean, fresh and inviting. Sarah had provided a welcome pack in the kitchen. WiFi was available. The beds had very comfortable new mattresses, the sitting room had good TV coverage for Wimbledon and the golf, the kitchen was roomy, dining room seated four comfortably. The newly renovated bathroom was large with bath, toilet and separate shower. We had friends join us for 2 nights, having the extra toilet and basin was very convenient . While the cottage does have steep stairs this was more than made up for by the views and amenities. Potterne was a great base to explore the Caen Lochs, Cheddar Gorge, Bath, Bristol and all the National Trust properties in the surrounding areas. Devizes (5 minutes drive) has several large supermarkets, market place, museum and wharf on the canal where you can take a 2 hour narrow boat trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Car access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you stay and you were missed after you left. We had all got quite used to you being next door. I am glad the cottage met all your requirements and based on your review I will make a note that the stairs are quite steep on our advert. Best wishes and kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pixieish1...
1 review
“Super holiday cottage that ticked all the boxes!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Mount View Cottage for five nights at the beginning of July and it didn't disappoint.
Very comfortable and perfect for us as we were travelling with our 16 month old daughter so needed somewhere that was a home from home.
Sarah was very welcoming and showed us around the property on our arrival. She also provided everything we needed, highchair, stair gate, etc at no extra charge and even left some toys and books for our little girl to play with.
There were nice touches such as plenty of loo roll, toiletries and hand towels and kitchen towels supplied which you don't get in many cottage rentals and we felt right at home from the time we arrived.
Very conveniently situated for all the main sights around the area, and a great place to stay. Thanks Sarah for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely large front bedroom with stunning views.
Liked least: Being so close to the road although the noise didn't bother us
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review, we are really glad you enjoyed both the cottage and your stay. It was lovely to meet you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage, Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were the first to stay in this cottage and its been furnished to a high standard and has all that you need for a really comfortable stay. The beds are brand new and super comfy, the kitchen and large dining room are great. The location and views are amazing. We walked from the cottage through the woods, past Drew's pond and all the little streams and springs into Devizes for a really nice lunch at the Bear and then took a taxi back, it was great to not use the car for the 4 days. Would 100% recommend this property to anyone looking for an extremely reasonable stay, we will definitely be returning in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great stay and loved the cottage especially as you were the first paying guests, we have worked really hard over the last few months getting it ready so it's really nice to get positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing