We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Dining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First Class Dining”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Had a truly momentous dinner at The Manor last night. Beautiful surroundings and the food was divine. We had the Prestige menu (a Tasting extravaganza) and our taste buds were bombarded (in a good way) with so many flavours which left wonderful memories. The puddings as far as we were concerned were the most stunning (butterscotch sauce heavenly and the chocolate fondue amazing!)
We were made to feel very welcome by everyone - thank you to all involved.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Just wanted to say thank you for your great comments, and I am so pleased you had enjoyed your meal, I know it means a lot to the people involved.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    180
    60
    23
    17
See reviews for
146
630
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went to this hotel for our anniversary. Our room was gorgeous - I couldn't fault it. We had a meal in the Michelin Star restaurant which was amazing. It is the in perfect location and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed here for a friend's wedding and the hotel was simply idyllic! The village of Castle Combe is beautiful and very quaint and the grounds of the hotel are lovely. The room we had was full of character with wooden beams and a four poster bed. From what I understood from other wedding guests, all the rooms were very different and done in different styles. The breakfast was fabulous and the hotel staff very friendly. I'd highly recommend this for a peaceful country weekend away!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

From the minute we came into Castle Combe, and came through the electrically operated gates, we were greeted with a beautiful view of an exceptional country house, across the lawns, and bathed in sunshine, heralding what was to be a very special birthday treat.
Rooms were of a very good standard, and the bathroom was roomy and well equipped, with TV above the bath! The setting befits the style of this stunning village, and we were entranced from the off!
Choosing the Taster menu with accompanying wines, the spell was to continue. Food and wines were well matched, and the staff were both informed, and friendly in guiding is through our dinner.
Capping what was a great evening we walked down the street., for a sundowner in the village, followed by a great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed indeed.
Breakfast maintained the high gastronomic standard, and we enjoyed a day on the lawns with cooking demonstrations, wine tastings, BBQ, and sporting events all in aid of a charity.
Sun shone throughout, and we look forward to a return, perhaps on a perfect winters day, where we can pick up where we left off....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed for a night at the beginning of August. The approach to the hotel and the grounds are quite spectacular and the picture-perfect Cotswold hotel. The staff were very professional and very accomodating. Our room was upgraded and was very large indeed and the bathroom was also very spacious with separate bath and rainshower with side jets.

We spent an excellent afternoon sipping gin and tonic on the front lawn playing croquet and lawn chess. Our puppy also loved the large grounds and was able to stretch his legs after a long ride in the car.

In terms of the restaurant, the food was very good (as it should be with a Michelin star) and the staff very attentive. I was slightly disappointed by the ambience in the restaurant. There is a very good golf course (it looks to be excellent shape at the moment) which is connected to the hotel and so many of the guests appear to be on golf breaks and accordingly the dress code and ambience in the restaurant is informal, which detracts a bit from the experience if you're looking for something "special". However this is not something that I would criticise the hotel for. In fact, I'll likely be back on a golf break!

I will be back and I look forward to trying their sister hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear David G,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I have taken on board your comments about dress code, however we do tend to find that many of our guests enjoy a slightly more relaxed environment whether Golfer or not.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
11.6 km away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
781 reviews
4.7 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
659 reviews
16.7 km away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
36.5 km away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
566 reviews
17.8 km away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price range (per night): $315 - $483
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, LateRooms, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing