We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice place”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Exterior
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Bedroom 2 - The Cottage
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Dining Table
Dining Table
Lounge
Lounge
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Bluetooth Music System
Kitchen
View from the Stable
Kitchen
Exterior
Picnic Table
The Wheatsheaf Pub
Stonehenge
Stonehenge
Salisbury Cathedral
The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amesbury, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
cheleguy
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Really enjoyed our stay, room a bit smaller than expected but still very nice and everything you needed

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j w
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,014 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent a Saturday night here with my wife, daughter, son-in-law and grand-daughter, great position opposite Wheatsheaf pub, looks good from the outside, very clean, well appointed and comfortable inside, has all usual mod cons and more, slept really well in large comfy bed then ate salmon and egg breakfast as provided by the owners. The only negative comment is that the kitchen is a little small but we really enjoyed ourselves and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M
Romford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2015

Everything you could hope and wish for - beautiful spacious accommodation with every home comfort you could need, nespresso machine, straighteners, multi charger, games, books, mags, loads of 'good' DVDs, well stock fridge for overnight stay /breakfast. Every detail is taken care of here and any help needed, hazel and Stephen are on hand next door to organise for you. Such friendly hosts with 2 young welcoming and friendly helpful children. The location is beautiful, a quiet pretty village alongside the River Avon 10 mins from Stonehenge and Salisbury. So much to do on your doorstep. Welcoming and rustic pub opposite allowing dogs offering good and reasonable food, a fine addition to this stunning accommodation. Thank you so much, it was a joy to stay here and we WILL be back and for longer . Look no further - book this now!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick S
Port Stephens, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful but over priced”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The b&b is in a quiet location greated by 2 dogs. but the room was not of a clean standard The lady did not know what room we were in or were the key was, she did not know how to turn the heater on, she was not much help at all
The room is small with a small short bed
After staying in some 20+ b&b's now on this trip you get to now what is good value
Their are many many rules to follow and I felt like if I did not follow these I would be charged extra. You have to cook your own breakfast (all tesco by the way) I think they spent a who £3
Brown bread only, no sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms and no baked beans. Kettle & toaster were dirty on the inside. Wifi works well but little to no mobile phone coverage
I do suggest the pub accros the quiet road but book a table well in advanced
I would not recommend this 21/2 star b&b as there are much better value once not far away

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: Lack of help
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Unfortunately this customer stayed while we were away for a week and the housekeepers did not do a very good job. The beds are all king-size so not sure what they mean by small, however everything else has been rectified. The breakfast we offer consists of fresh eggs, smoked salmon, proscuitto, ham, cheese, bread, muesli, cornflakes, milk, selection of conserves, nespresso coffee machine, etc etc. It all comes from Waitrose. If you want sausage and bacon - we are probably your wrong venue. I would suggest you read our other reviews to get a fuller flavour of why we are a 5 star venue. Stephen (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smithwm
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice but not perfection ”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Reading the reviews of this place you would think it was heaven on a stick. Don't get me wrong, it has a lot going for it - quaint village, close to Stonehenge and Salisbury, across the road from a pub etc - but there were some issues with our stay.

Firstly, we were sent instructions about access and the description on the email talked about access to the cottage which already had people in it when we arrived. The housekeeper didn't seem to know who we were or where we were staying but she tried another door called the stables and it worked so we stayed there.

Inside it was cold and the directions for the heating said it was generally on in colder months but it wasn't warm. There was supposed to be a heater in the wardrobe but it wasn't there. We finally found it under the television in the cabinet along with the hairdryer!

Next to the bed I noticed some rubbish between the side table and wardrobe which hadn't been removed during cleaning although generally the room was very clean and well presented.

My husband went to the pub across the road when we arrived at 5pm to book a table for dinner. They told him to come back at 8:30pm or we could come for a drink and take dinner back to the room with us. We opted for the later but when we arrived for a drink they decided a table was available. Very confusing just a little bit weird but the food was nice, typical pub standard. It might be a good idea to suggest to guests to pre-book the pub for dinner. Whilst it's great you can take food away it wasn't really the experience we were after and while it worked out for us the people in the other room were not so lucky.

The bed is firm and smallish but suits the room.

At 6:00 am the television spontaneously turned on, hence I am awake and writing this review.

Breakfast is yet to be had but it is a self-prepare one.

All in all a nice place, just not as perfect as the reviews would lead you to believe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Unfortunately this customer stayed while we were away for a week and the housekeepers did not do a very good job. The bed is king-size so not sure what they mean by small, however everything else has been rectified.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing