We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absoultely Delightful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Exterior
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Bedroom 2 - The Cottage
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Dining Table
Dining Table
Lounge
Lounge
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Bluetooth Music System
Kitchen
View from the Stable
Kitchen
Exterior
Picnic Table
The Wheatsheaf Pub
Stonehenge
Stonehenge
Salisbury Cathedral
The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amesbury, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Pitkin117
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absoultely Delightful!”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We LOVED this cottage! Hazel and Stephen were very gracious and welcoming, and have put so much thought into this rental. It is beautifully appointed and so clean! The beds were really comfortable and had lovely duvets, fluffy pillows and soft throws on them. They included many treats such as food for a delicious breakfast, special soaps, shampoos and conditioners, boards games and DVDs, etc. There was plenty of wood to have a terrific fire in the wood stove in the evening-- so relaxing! And they are directly across the street from a traditional pub, the Wheatsheaf, where we had a wonderful dinner of steak and ale pie. If you are going to visit Stonehenge, you can't go wrong booking this beautiful cottage which is only ten minutes away from the site.Thank you, Hazel and Stephen. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen s
wooburn green
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OMG!! What a find in a stunning location”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a last minute trip to Salisbury to visit family and just by luck found Stonehenge cottages as were looking for Hotel or nice Band B as only needed one nights accommodation.
well we were overwhelmed when we arrived . What a stunning location Lower Woodford is.
The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished and the Owners have covered every detail to offer you a fabulous stay and there is nothing I can think of that they have missed . We were extremely comfortable and really wished we had longer to stay . The log burner was so cosy . We would thoroughly recommend this truer beautiful property to anyone wanting a very upmarket property to have a fabulous stay. We didn't get chance to visit the lively pub across the road as only short visit but will definitely be booking again for a longer .
Only had the opportunity to meet Stephen but he immediately made us very welcome and we felt nothing would be too much trouble for him . This definately is worth in 5 star rating . Well deserved .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A nuggett of gold in the Woodford Valley!”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I and our 11 year old son stayed at this property for 8 nights whilst we had exchanged on our old house and were waiting to move into our new house. We found Stonehenge Cottages on the internet (via Owners Direct) and as we know the area around Salisbury well were immediately taken with the location in the Woodford Valley and it being directly opposite the Wheatsheaf pub which is where we had held our wedding reception 3 years previously.

Stephen and Hazel, the owners who live in the large house next to the cottages, could not have been more helpful in dealing with our request and whilst these are newly refurbished cottages (1 large one and one smaller with interconnecting door which can make a single larger property) they have already received a 5 Star AA rating at their first attempt. It is easy to understand why with such an impressive array of facilities, furnishings and fittings. Whilst there is WiFi the only small downside is that any mobile phone signal in the Valley is erratic at best. The properties have ample private parking and also take well behaved dogs even though there is an additional deposit required to cover any small mishaps.

There are some lovely walks right from the house and the pub opposite was most welcoming when they realised we were staying in the cottages. They even allowed us to order takeaways which being between homes was a real treat. It serves some really great food.

Steven and Hazel were most attentive, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely recommend the cottages to anyone who wants a luxurious experience in a stunning location. We might be booking a further visit even though we only live 6 miles away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 5 star accommodation, facilities and friendly owners. It is great having an outstanding pub and eatery opposite the property.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharelleN...
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Alleen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing