We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local cuisine”
Review of Osteria La Saletta

Osteria La Saletta
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Certaldo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Ate twice at this restaurant. Fabulous local cuisine fresh and cooked to perfection. Although an English menu was provided the waiter/owner explained each dish, its ingredients and how cooked. He explained his 85 year old mother was the head of the kitchen. Dhe knows how to cook. The food was fresh and beautifulky prepared. There was also an extensive wine selection.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank coxcrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016

We had lunch of a generous plate of antipasto and then pasta dishes. All was delicious and plentiful. This is one of the increasing "slow food" establishments in Tuscany and well worth waiting a little longer for the food to arrive. We arrived quite late for lunch but were nevertheless made very welcome by the staff. We would have tried one of the delicious looking pastries from the pasticceria but sadly it closed at 3pm. The wine list looked good and reasonably priced but we were driving so could not try it.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RedhenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The food is very good, there are many different choices and all are good. The service was also really good.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ric8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

What can I say, I love to eat at a restaurant where the Owner describes the menu as though each dish is a piece of his heart. He loves each dish as though it was one of his children. The Owner, Jon Pierre get it.
The food, service and friendly attitude was over the top! Leaving in a few day but a must stop before we go home. Sniff.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank E6452RSmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

This restaurant adjoins one of the best pasticceria in Certaldo. If only we had found it sooner - we would have come back for much more!

The menu is bought to life by the owner, who details every entry on this diverse menu: from local meats to giant prawns and lovingly prepared fresh pasta - it has something for everyone, locals and tourists alike.

Whatever you do, save room for dessert - the plated semifreddo are to die for!

By the way, the coffee shop was our regular haunt and freshly baked rice tarts are amazing!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Tasteblaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Saletta also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria La Saletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.