We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
50
37
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
37
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great play to stay sit inside the owner jazz alfred train paintings
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We got married in Certaldo Alto so we had to fly out a few times to sort paperwork - the second time we stayed here and it was great - we booked a suite and we had a huge bathroom with a sink each and a living room separate to the bedroom. My only issue was the bed was rock hard the hardest I have ever slept on but the wine helps you sleep! Alfred was great and when we got married we had drinks and canopies around the fountain in the courtyard and it was just perfect - the view is amazing from the courtyard and it was just the perfect setting and it was a really reasonable price and much needed pit stop after the wedding especially as it was 35 degrees! We will be coming back in a few years for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our first trip to Italy the last week of October. Our trip was the celebration of 25 years while also sharing our daughters study abroad experience in the wonderful town of Certaldo Alto. While the town, food, restaurants, and people were fantastic, our stay at Albergo II Castello was wonderful beyond words. Our room was very comfortable and clean, bathroom very nice and updated, and our window opened to the sounds and views of the streets of Certaldo. Alfred, the owner, was an outstanding host and made our trip personable. Whether it was listening to the sounds of his piano playing while drinking wine at a street side table outside the hotel or enjoying a conversation over a cappuccino he always took the time make our stay memorable at is hotel. We highly recommend staying here and are look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisfromNCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This hotel was booked for me by a friend from the area. We were intrigued by the idea of staying at a castle. This hotel, the staff and the surrounding exceeded our expectations. We planned on visiting a couple of the other castle towns in the area and were surprised that there was so much to do right at our hotel. There are some really good restaurants inside the castle walls and Andrea's wine bar (just a 50 meter walk) is a great place for an informative, fun and reasonable wine tasting with multiple wines from the area.

We had the suite and it was way more than we needed. The bathroom had been completely updated and was very nice. The continental breakfast was as good as any we had on our trip.

Alfred was very nice and was always there to help when we needed a little direction. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel/experience.

Room Tip: The suite was nice. It had a nice view of the walk. We had room 10.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We came here some years back and have only now rediscovered it.
It is among the best we have eaten at. Fresh pasta and truffle MMMM, the trio of Flans I could eat till I burst, Pork fillets with prunes just unbeatable.
We will return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We drove into Certaldo and found a funicular railway to save us the climb up to the Alto township perched on the hill overlooking beautiful Tuscany scenery and vineyards. We fell in love with the place and decided to see if we could find an hotel. The Tourist Information bureau directed us to Alebergo 11Castello and what a recommendation. The hotel was full but Victoria the owner said she had one room left but it had no AC. We decided to take it and were not disappointed. The hotel has a beautiful terrace overlooking the vineyards to have breakfast or dinner and both were excellent. Certaldo is only about 25km from Florence and about 40 mins by train which was excellent. The room was a little on the small side as indeed was the shower but that did not matter as the old villa style was a lovely to enjoy and so relaxing. Certaldo Alto is a small cobbled street hill town with plenty of little bars and small restaurants. There is a car park about 8 minutes walk from the hotel but you can pull up to drop off your luggage at the door. Would definitely revisit again.

Room Tip: As there is no road traffic most rooms would be quiet. Best would be a room overlooking the valley and vineyards.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews