We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most comfortable bed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gran Oceano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gran Oceano
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most comfortable bed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed for one night and slept so well! The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Powerful air con, nice hot shower with plenty of pressure--terrific! I had a quick evening dip in the pool and enjoyed my breakfast in the morning. The location on a quiet side is appreciated, and it's a short walk to main street and the beach. Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: For the excellent mattress, ask for room 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    40
    30
    13
    10
See reviews for
23
33
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We walked around the area and asked prices according to facilities and found this place to be of best value. Our room was basic, looking a bit more like a room in a hostel then a hotel, but was very clean, had hot water, great pressure in the shower and air conditioning. The hotel has free wifi that works best in the reception area (there are some nice rocking chairs to chill in) and there is a nice little pool when you just want to cool off or chill out without the hassle of cleaning up after the beach. Our deal worked out at $18 a night per person inc breakfast. The breakfast was fine but I would avoid the rice and beans as it didn’t taste of anything. The staff were friendly bar 1 receptionist who was locked to her FaceBook page and we were obviously interrupting by being there and 1 waitress who wouldn’t give us an extra sachet of butter to go with our toast. It’s a shame they let the place down on service because the head guy on reception was very helpful and welcoming, recommending a local laundrettes – places to eat and giving us coupons we could use at both and the rest of the staff were good. This was a good deal for price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338HappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at Gran Hotel Oceano for a couple of nights recently. For the money, the rooms are not very spacious, but they seemed clean, comfortable and in a good location.

Unfortunately on the second night the hotel filled with what sounded like dozens of young teenagers/youth - all packed into the tiny rooms. They came home in the early hours, screaming, shouting, yelling, running, thumping on doors etc from around midnight to 4am. The 'security guard' was useless and when I complained to management later than morning they didnt seem to care either. Marlon simply shrugged his shoulders and smiled and walked off to answer his phone.

I would expect that noice and service if I paid $10 for a hostel dorm, but this is not the service you expect for this kind of money. I have travelled all over Central America and unfortunately would honestly say this is the worst place we have stayed at so far.

Grand **YOUTH HOSTEL** Oceana has potential but unfortunately management and service really let this place down.

If you want a youth hostel, there are plenty of great places nearby for a quarter of the price.

If you dont want a youth hostel, do yourself a favour and book somewhere else for the same price nearby - there are plenty as many other reviewers have commented.

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep consider choosing another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Jorge, the owner, is such a great and nice gut, he was always at front desk while not on fishing trip. we wanted to have a boat trip to see the sunset, he took us on the Papayan boat and we had one of the best experiences ever. we even caught 3 fish and he surprised us by sending them to a local restaurant where they cooked them for us exclusively, again, one of the best meals ever in life! it was amazing!

The hotel is nicely located just about 40m from the beach and 2 blocks from the main restaurants and bars, so if you are going with friends and/or like to party this is the place to stay. Maybe if you plan to stay most of the time in the room or in the hotel facilities, this hotel will not meet your expectations. you will have a comfortable sleep, air conditioning, and hot water.
the pool is really nice BTW!

if we ever go back to san juan, we will definitively stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slemusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We paid for $50 a night to stay here. The room was small and only had a window to the hotel corridor. The bathroom was dirty with bugs crawling around all over the place. We had to walk with our flip flops everywhere. The shower had been claimed to be hot, but it was lukewarm at best. The shower head was also one of those "suicide showers" (you can easily be electrocuted by it).

The guy that was at the front desk all the time was grumpy and had a terrible attitude when we had a problem with our room.

Other issues:

- TV got cut out one night
- There was no power for a whole day
- You couldn't control the A/C (only had an on/off switch). So it was either really hot, or really cold in the room. Not great for sleeping!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatAmio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 km away
La Estacion
La Estacion
#27 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#24 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#20 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Oceano

Property: Hotel Gran Oceano
Address: Del Parque Central 2c. y 1/2 hacia el mar, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price range (per night): $55 - $111
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Gran Oceano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing