We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and unfriendly.”
Review of Matilda's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matilda's
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and unfriendly.”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We headed out to Matilda's from SJDS with hopes of camping on the beach for a couple nights. We arrived and were immediately disappointed with the level of service. We were appalled at the $10 a night charge to camp across the road in a dusty old paddock with our own tent. Not even in view of the ocean. The Lonely Planet said it had a kitchen so we brought lots of rice and pasta for meals but unfortunately there wasn't a gas burner or a fridge. It was very difficult to set fires to cook with the lack of firewood provided. Beer was sold at the hostel but it was very difficult to get when wanted, you had to track down the ever invisible owners and once you did they were rude and unhelpful. The lack of a real common area in the hostel was also a negative point for us. A lot of people are there to surf and go to bed early but for the others there aren't any hang out areas outside the room areas. The bathrooms ran out of toilet paper late in the evening and was not replenshed until almost noon the next day. They also locked us out of the main grounds after 9 or 10 so we were unable to come back in to use the bathroom through the night. Really didn't understand what we were paying for? Our plans of staying a few nights in this beautiful spot were short lived, we packed up the next morning and caught the next taxi out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I dont know why there aren't more reviews about this place!
After getting dropped at the shuttle point at cafe Barrio on the main part of Maderas walk and keep walking until you see gorgeous white sand and the little soda "matildas" perched on the edge of the playa.
A totally secluded beach while we were there, matildas allows for beachfront accomadation for $25 a night. The shabby chic rooms are cute and comfortable, hammocks and patio chairs to lounge in outside your door. We rented boogie boards and had a blast on the beach for two glorious days.
The only downside is the only food is from the beachshack, but the seclusion and friendly family makes for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie-363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This funky little hotel was one of the highlights of our trip to Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Well, that and the beach in front, which is at the north end of Playa Madera and absolutely gorgeous. I was traveling with my son, his wife and their friend, so they stayed in one room, while I had a cute little room to myself (for $15). Right outside the entrance to the hotel is a tiny cabana that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner -- absolutely amazing. Because we were visiting in June, the low season, we felt like we had the place virtually to ourselves.

My only caveat is that this felt like a surfer's hotel -- and we are definitely not surfers. But one of the regulars (also a surfer) said non-surfers do show up there all the time. It's amazing that anyone finds it, but it's definitely worth the drive. I was quite depressed when we first arrived at San Juan del Sur -- very uninspiring beach and the whole vibe was very Daytona Beach to me. Ugh. So it was a total joy to discover this beach about 20 minutes north.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClaireB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I travelled all over Nicaragua and the northern end of Maderas beach is the prettiest beach in the country. The far south end is a surfer beach with 3 restaurants and is separated physically and visually be a rocky point. Matilda's offers different kind of accomodations and the high end is private room with bath for $30/night $25 if more than a night. This is a perfect location! The place is very comfy and there's a hut next to it that serves great coffee in the morning, food all day and well into the evening, beers too. I highly recommend!! If you need more civilization, San Juan del Sur is 20 min in a car.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.9 km away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#3 of 3 in Playa Maderas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.1 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 7 in Playa Maderas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.8 km away
Hostal Villa Mar
Hostal Villa Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
5.4 km away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matilda's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matilda's

Property: Matilda's
Address: Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 74 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Matilda`s Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing