We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent........again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent........again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. We must like it.....we keep coming back. We always get the king suite with kitchenette. The room itself is very large, plenty to accomodate three adults and two small children/babies, even with losing some space to a pack and play for the baby. The extra space gives them room to run around and play without getting into trouble, and we can bring lots of toys and not feel like we are crammed in.
The kitchenette is perfect for storing milk/juice and have the option of using the microwave if we need it.
The rooms have always been clean and well maintained. The breakfast is very good,and free! Hard to complain about free food, especially when it includes fresh made waffles. As soon as something was running low, it was promptly refilled, and the quality was very good.
However, what got me to write this review was the staff. From check-in to check-out they were superb. Friendly faces, very helpful, very responsive to our every need (I forgot to ask for a pack and play when I reserved, asked at check-in; that guy was knocking on the door with it before we even sat down!) When I walked into the lobby, I was lugging a baby, trying to corrale a three year old and dragging two suitcases and a stroller while the rest of the family parked the car and brought more luggage. I am sure I was a sight to see! I don't suspect that it was a coincidence that he gave me the room right at the lobby! How helpful was that! At first I was concerned that the noise from the lobby breakfast would wake the babes in the morning, but that room is so well insulated, we never heard a sound from outside.
All weekend, every time we arrived or departed, the staff were very friendly to the kids, and made a big fuss over them. Now I am sure that lots of kids stay at the hotel right near the entrance to Hersheypark, and I am also sure that our kids aren't the singularly cutest kids ever to stay there, but the staff acted like they were. It is always nice to be made to feel special. Thanks guys for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docdebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    287
    140
    72
    36
See reviews for
511
148
14
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

It started off poorly as soon as we walked in as the 2 people at the front desk were engaged in administrative work at the front desk and we had to wait for them to finish before they greeted us. On our way to our room, the carpets badly needed vacuuming, and they remained that way the entire stay. The room had an overpowering smell of mildew, including the towels. It really needs to be updated and the cleaning staff should be fired.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraC47588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great Hotel in Hershey PA!!! Large King Suite with Kitchinette, living room . Flat screen TVS, great staff. Great Bfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Fresh Coffe all Day!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gorges36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
223 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This Hampton is "ok", it's older and shows the wear. The carpets are worn, the bathrooms are not updated, their was mold around the bathtub fixtures and behind the sink faucets, see photos. It's extremely busy, as it's very near Hershey Park entry. Especially at the free breakfast. At 7:30am the line for breakfast wrapped around the entire lobby. Craziest thing I've ever seen staying at a Hampton. Having stayed at both Hamptons, I would opt for the one just off I-81 in Grantville. It's more modern, provided a table and chairs in the room, refrigerator and microwave, 42" flat screen TV, its less busy, 15 minutes from the park and $100 a night cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

You get what you pay for!!! We have stayed at the Hampton Inn previously and thought it was pretty good value; however, this year was NOT good. Our room smelled of vomit, so we had to leave for a few hours (after driving with 3 children 7 and under for 3 hours to get there!) so they could treat the room. The following day we left at 10am to head to Hershey Park and returned at 5pm with 3 exhausted children, and the room had not yet been cleaned. We called Housekeeping who came sometime later replaced towels, soap, and vacuumed at our request. We did mention all of this to the hotel management who simply apologized that they were short staffed, really! Not a great answer. The Hampton Inn moto "If you're not satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our commitment & your guarantee." We did not ask for a break on the room, but nothing was even offered to us anyway!
I guess we will be looking for somewhere else to stay next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evag15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
We apologize for falling short on your stay here at the hotel. Our motto is a 100% satisfied and we would like to make this right for you. We appreciate all comments and use those comments to better our guest stay all the time. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hershey
2.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
5.4 km away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.1 km away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#4 of 24 in Hershey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Hershey Near the Park
0.1 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Address: 749 East Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hershey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#9 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price range (per night): $160 - $291
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hampton Inn And Suites Hershey
Hampton Inn Hotel Hershey
Hampton Inn Hershey
Hershey Hampton Inn
Suites Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing