We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation on the lake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Birches Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed at SB which is right on the lake. Very restful , but fun vacation with our two children,12 & 13. They skipped rocks, swam in lake, played shuffle board, corn holes and huge Jenga game along with a pool. There's kayaking, stand up paddle board, boat rental for a rental fee, but worth it. Lake Wallenpaupack is huge so we rented a boat (never drove one before) and got to see almost the whole lake. A bunch of gas fire pits to sit around. Great people, especially Dave who works at the recreation counter. Knows so much and is awesome. Very clean rooms. It gets booked up quickly so don't wait or get on a wait list. Call back all the time to check for availability, that's how I got our room. Restaurant next door called the dock is very good for lunch and dinner (maybe not breakfast) and the boat house is great down the road. Will definitely go back and stay longer. We've been to Woodloch before although there's much more to do as a family, it's too expensive and too crowded and the room we stayed in there smellled musty. Silver Birches is clean, smells nice, friendly people and can be very relaxing or fun.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andrea C,
We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful lakeside vacation with your kids! We are happy they enjoyed the lawn games, swimming in the lake, and skipping rocks. We are glad you were able to explore the lake by boat and relax in the evening by the fire. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Silver Birches Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed at this property in Nov. 2016 for a wedding. The property is quaint and every room had a beautiful view of the lake. The after champagne and the evening bonfire were a great addition to our weekend! The restaurant/bar on site was great and accommodated the many quests there for the wedding. The food for the wedding was delicious and the rehearsal dinner at a sister property was fabulous. We couldn't be happier with all of the staff including the chefs, servers, front desk personnel and wedding coordinator. I only wished I lived closer so I could return to this property more often.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sitting area on deck are superb!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mary L,
We are thrilled to hear your wedding experience here was wonderful! We are pleased you loved the accommodations, the food at the restaurant and the wedding cuisine at the waterfront banquet center. We hope you will visit us again and appreciate you taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

So happy we stayed at this newly renovated resort property on the shores of Lake Wallenpaupack. Loved the gorgeous view of the lake from the deck outside of our room. The pool and nightly bonfire were relaxing amenities. Staff was extremely kind and helpful. We will definitely book again next summer!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank NelleTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear NelleTraveled,
We are ecstatic to read your lovely review. We’re thrilled you had a wonderful time and loved the views of Lake Wallenpaupack from your room. We will pass along your compliments to the staff and we look forward to seeing you next summer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

My parents rented three rooms at Silver Birches in the Poconos in early August 2017. I stayed in L-3, which was clean and modern, but my parents and sister had honeymoon suites. They had beautiful views of the lake, and decks off their rooms with Adirondack chairs to sit and have coffee or wine and enjoy the view. My room and my sister's room were both a bit musty upon entry and needed an airing out. I think lake shore properties simply have this challenge but because of it, I couldn't close the windows and run the AC. Good thing it was cool and I could keep the windows open. Also, two other complaints: my parents said they had to unscrew the bulbs from the bathrooms and use them in the bedrooms in order to read in bed with proper light. (My eyes are a bit younger so I did not have this problem.) I was annoyed that the housekeeping, while keeping everything spotless, did not replenish my soaps every night. I couldn't take bubble bath the second morning of our stay because of this. Despite all this, I would recommend Silver Birches especially to people with children. It reminded me of the resort from the movie Dirty Dancing with all the guests knowing each other and the staff. Besides the serene surroundings, my favorite was Branford, the French Bulldog who oversees the property. He is as charming as the staff and truly friendly and sweet. I think Silver Birches has some work to do to get to 5-Stars but it definitely has the potential and I still think it's great for families whose kids make a mess of everything anyway.

Room Tip: L-3 does not have direct lake views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear AEP77,
We are happy to hear you loved the grounds and we appreciate your feedback on your room. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope you’ll visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We spent a long weekend at Silver Birches and truly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was great and always extremely helpful and attentive. The accommodations were very nice. There were 4 of us in a 2 twin bed room because it was all they had available. Next time we will plan better and get a cabin. All in all it was a great weekend and the kids loved it too, Had a great meal at The Glass restaurant, but hope to find more options next time we are there. The Dock Restaurant was OK, staff very nice, but food just so-so. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Ken M,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy you had a great stay and we will pass along your compliments to the staff. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
39.9 km away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,460 reviews
1.8 km away
Greshams Lake View Motel
18.3 km away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
The Lodge at Woodloch
23.2 km away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,197 reviews
4.6 km away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Birches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Birches Resort

Address: 205 Route 507, Hawley, PA 18428-7026 (Formerly Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
#4 Family Hotel in Hawley
Price Range: $81 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything old is new again. After extensive renovations, Silver Birches is ready to welcome you back to Lake Wallenpaupack and back in time to when folks gathered at the lake - to celebrate the joys of a cannonball splash off the dock or a champagne toast to drink in the sunset. To hook the big one at the end of our dock or paddle across the lake in one of our canoes or kayaks. There is something special about an old-fashioned resort with cozy cottages and romantic inns with rambling porches, and everywhere you look an impressive view of Wallenpaupack from expansive lawns with Adirondack chairs and camp fires. Our Waterfront resort is set among the scenic lake region where you can expect beautiful views on your vacation. Lounging poolside or lake side. Laid back or active. Every room has a picture window. As one of the only Poconos luxury resorts in Hawley, PA, our property is composed of thirteen historic structures dating back to the 1920s. We offer several types of Lake Wallenpaupack lodging options, including five different types of guest rooms, a bunkhouse, several cottages, and three houses on our property. Each of our guest rooms invites you into a relaxing retreat at this Poconos resort. As one of the best Lake Wallenpaupack hotels in the area, you can choose from a variety of different well-appointed rooms and cottages to make your stay enjoyable on Lake Wallenpaupack. Unlike other Hawley, PA hotels, we offer luxurious amenities during your stay. Many accommodations include fine linens, flat-screen TVs with cable in each room, Keurig coffee makers to help start your morning refreshed, and complimentary Wi-Fi. We are also a premier family resort in Hawley, PA. Our outdoor activities are great for family vacations. Enjoy our seasonal pool, a game of shuffleboard, several lawn games and lakefront activities, and fire pits. If it's relaxation you're looking for at our Waterfront resort, you can request a special in-room massage or order a bottle of champagne. Whatever it is you're looking for, you'll find it here at one of the best Poconos luxury resorts. While staying at one of the best Lake Wallenpaupack hotels in the area, you'll find many things to do in Hawley, PA. From the several family fun parks to museums and wildlife attractions, Silver Birches is set in the heart of several attractions. When you're looking for places to eat near Lake Wallenpaupack, head back to The Dock on Wallenpaupack, our Silver Birches restaurant and enjoy seafood dishes and comfort foods while listening to live music. You'll feel right at home at this Hawley, PA resort. Whether you're looking to have a romantic getaway, a honeymoon retreat or a family vacation, Silver Birches is the perfect resort in the Poconos. As one of the few Hawley, PA resorts, this is a place where couples on a romantic retreat can revel in watching a family play on the beach and where grandparents take an active role in the activities of the day. Jump in and come up for air. We are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ehrhardt`s Waterfront Hotel Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing