We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY HEART-WARMING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Grafton, West Virginia, United States
1 review
“VERY HEART-WARMING”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed two nights and everything was great. The night lady Diane was more than helpful, she was great!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. I was very pleased to read your review of our hotel and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Yes, Diane is truly a hospitality professional and guest service leader at our hotel. She will be very proud to see this review. Again, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave your comments. I hope that you will visit us again in the very near future.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    125
    49
    28
    20
See reviews for
141
46
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hillside, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Holiday Inn/ Harrisburg East is a nice property in a convenient location. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Located just off Union Deposit Road, it's convenient to a nearby shopping strip with an Outback Steak House. A second mall with a TGIF Fridays and a Lowes is on the other side of Union Deposit Road.

Room furnishings are modern and well maintained. Textured wall paper is used in the rooms and the public spaces. The downside to using textured wall paper is that it shows subpar patch work. I did notice a couple of patched holes stood out against the nice mahogany textured wall paper in the men's rest room. And, the sink in the lobby men's restroom was cracked.

There was a small hair-line crack in the on/off light switch in the bathroom of my room. It's possible that these cracks are a sign of the volume of traffic the property experences. It's also possible that the maintenance budget is smaller than the hotel warrants given the large volume of traffic it handles.

Fitness room and equipment are well maintained.

Nevertheless, the front line Reception Desk and room maintenance staff place a warm, helpful and friendly face on this property. The attributes of the staff dwarf the minor signs of wear and tear evident in the physical hotel property.

Room Tip: I was on the fifth floor facing the street. Occasionally, I heard truck noises from traffic passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post this review and give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very pleased to hear that you found our hotel team members to be warm & friendly, and our hotel to be well maintained. I also want to thank you for informing us of the few maintenance issues that need to be addressed. The feedback we receive from our guests is a great training tool for our team members and also places focus on items that we need to attend to first, as seen through our guests eyes! Also, great point regarding the traffic noise. Your comment will be noted in our next operations meeting with our Guest Service team members. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will visit us again during your next visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area.


Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My family and I stayed for 5 nights, the hotel decor was very nice, the staff was very friendly and the property was clean & well maintained. Vanessa was very helpful with our reservation and went out of her way to ensure our stay was hassle-free. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaEric00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and leaving such a wonderful review of our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that Vanessa has very helpful during your stay with us. She is an awesome example of a customer service professional and she will be very pleased to read this review. We hope to see your family here again in the near future. Do you like rollercoasters? Hersheypark is scheduled to open their new "state of the art" rollercoaster this Spring? That brings their rollercoaster total to 12!! Thanks again, we appreciate your business.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I enjoyed this place, it was not right in the city but on the outskirts in a somewhat busy location. I liked the size and cleanliness of the room. The bathroom was very small and the bathroom light made a lot of noise, I could not hear my husband talk to me the fan was just so loud and buzzing the whole time I was in the bathroom doing my make up or hair..... But other than the small bathroom with the fan that needed to definitely be replaced, it was a very nice place.The breakfast buffet and complimentary USA today paper was an added bonus. There was also free WIFI which was great. I love how these mid priced hotels give you more than the more expensive priced hotels, free brkfst, free wifi and no added fees. Only wish they had in room movies to purchase.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. I also appreciate you for taking the time, out of your busy schedule, to give us your feedback and post a review of our hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us! We are pleased to be able to offer these additional ammennities complimentary to our guests, so please pass this information on to others what we have to offer! In addition, I would like to apologize for the loud bathroom fan, but I'm glad that you shared that in you review. That was a great tool for our Maintenace Engineer when inspecting rooms. I hope that you will stop back an visit us again soon. Remeber, Springtime in Hershey is a great experience!!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were in Harrisburg to visit family and need a place to spend the night. We were traveling with a pet and were pleased to find this nice hotel at a reasonable price. The room was very nice an we all slept well. The free breakfast was pretty good and the staff was very friendly. We would select this one again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lms1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with this during your recent visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. I was very pleased to read your very nice review of our hotel. Now that you have found us, I hope that we have earned your business when visiting your family in Harrisburg. Again, thank you, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
0.7 km away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
4.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price range (per night): $185 - $265
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing