We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tale of two stays”
Review of The Lafayette Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lafayette Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Easton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tale of two stays”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I am from the area, but now live in Charlotte. This is pretty much the only Inn in Easton Pa, other than one hotel. Pictures look great online. The food is ok, yet the place needs work; and not very clean. I stayed at the Inn twice while visiting with my ill father .
The first time I stayed was ok. I had a third floor room. My second visit was with my husband after my dad passed away. We were put in a basement room with the musty smell, and dog hair all over the carpets, dead bugs in the bathroom and behind the door. I then asked Laura is this one of the PET rooms and she said, yes. We did not bring a pet. Unfortunately, the owners were not accommodating and really didn't know what to do. We were told that no other rooms were available even though we booked in advance. We will never stay here again. My advice to anyone is ask what room number you are scheduled to stay in.
The Hotel Bethlehem is the place to stay. Everything is within walking distance. The Restaurants are wonderful there. So, now when we visit we stay at Hotel Bethlehem.

Room Tip: Always get a room number when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LafayinnBB, Owner at The Lafayette Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the room assigned to you. We did offer to immediately address any housekeeping issues and to move you to a different room as soon as one became available. When you decided not to stay at all we respected your decision and did not charge any cancellation fees.

We always try to match our guests with the best possible room for their particular needs and budget. When only one room is available we indicate that that is the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    24
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
51
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at this inn on a college visiting trip. The owners are exceedingly friendly, yet not in an overbearing, non-stop talking kind of way at some inns. They are ideal inn owners.

You can walk 3 blocks to the admissions office-- took us 5 minutes on a pleasant day.

The rooms are fine. We stayed in a queen room on the third floor. The window and skylight are both small, so it's not particularly bright but it's comfortable and clean.

Note that I don't think there's an elevator, so if you're not comfortable with a lot of stairs stay on a lower floor.

Breakfast was made to order omelets and waffles as well as a buffet of cereals and even a chocolate "breakfast" cake. Not gourmet especially by b and b standards, but all very good.

Cake was out in the afternoon. There is free Wi-Fi with sufficient band width to watch a video and a very nice porch to sit on in the evenings.

Noise wasn't an issue and I am a light sleeper, but there were few guests at the inn when we were there.

Room Tip: stay on a lower floor if stairs are an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The staff at Lafayette is very friendly, accommodating, and eager to please. When we arrived, our reserved room was under construction so they upgraded us to a larger room. The inn has several dog-friendly rooms with outdoor entrances, which are every bit as well-appointed as their other rooms. Our room had a very nice entry space with a bench and hooks and space for shoes, bags, coats, dog towels, etc. They provide bags, towels, treats, and bowls if you are traveling with your pet. We were in room 2, which I think can adjoin with the room next door, so there was just a bit of noise as the neighbors checked in, but overall noise was not an issue. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The toiletries were also nice. There was a large whirlpool tub in the bathroom and a separate small shower stall. We had made to order omelettes, tea, coffee, juice and house made muffins for breakfast which was served well and quickly. The grounds are pretty and there is a larger yard behind the inn for walking your dog, but the area is safe and has sidewalks with plenty of grass for taking your dog on a longer walk and the college campus is not very far. We had a casual, quick dinner at Giacomo's Italian Grille/Deli just a couple blocks from the inn. The meatball and sausage sandwiches were delicious in that comfort food way after a long drive and the cannoli was pretty good too. The Giacomo's staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a pet room if you are traveling with your best friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEBRandBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Lafayette Inn whild in town for my husband's 45th high school reunion and a family reunion the next day. Even though my husband grew up in this area, he was never aware of the Inn. We had a wonderful stay. The room, while small, was very comfortable. Breakfast each morning was fantastic. The owners were very nice; they even let up keep our artificial ice & extra sodas (for the long drive back home) in their refrigerator while we were there. They also pay attention to detail. When we came in after my husband's high school reunion, they asked how the reunion went , did we have a good time, etc. There are newspapers in the parlor each morning for the guests. There are sodas, coffee, & tea available thorughout the day as swell as fresh baked goods to snack on. Be aware that most of the less expensive rooms are on the 3rd floor; someone who has difficulty climbing steps might want to keep that in mind while booking (location of each room is spelled out on the Inn's website). There are DVDs available for the guests' use (each room has a DVD player). While I did not try it, the guide did say that they have a loaner laptop available for checking emails, etc. We generally come to the Easton area every year or two to visit my husband's family; we will definitely be staying at the Lafayette Inn on our future trips.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edistotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I returned this week from a 3 night stay at the Inn and we are in Easton withdrawl. We once again enjoyed the hospitality of owners, Laura and Paul, and their staff. Great fun, accomodations and breakfast! Try the blueberry ricotta pancakes or the belgian waffles if they are on the menu that morning - two favorites. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohioexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
1.2 km away
Grand Eastonian Hotel & Suites
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#1 of 7 in Easton
554 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Easton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Days Inn Easton
Days Inn Easton
#7 of 7 in Easton
285 reviews
4.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Easton
129 reviews
17.4 km away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Inn

Property: The Lafayette Inn
Address: 525 W Monroe Street, Easton, PA 18042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Easton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Easton
Price range (per night): $183 - $235
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lafayette Inn in Easton, PA is a perfect base for discovering the Lehigh Valley. Located just two blocks from Lafayette College and one mile from downtown Easton PA's Crayola Factory and State Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lafayette Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Easton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing