We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Almost perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Star Gaze The Night Away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Star Gaze The Night Away
Remote Cabin for Your Pleasure Walking Path to Star Gazing Field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Star Gaze The Night Away
Remote Cabin for Your Pleasure
Walking Path to Star Gazing Field
Relax, Renew, Recharge & Reconnect with Family and Friends
Full and Complete Kitchen for home cooking.
Local Wildlife
The Keeping Room
Bedroom
Rustic Interior
Welcome
Star GAze the night away from your 10 acre star gazing field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coudersport, Potter County, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had two goals for our weekend at Blue Skies Lodge: Family bonding and stargazing. Two cloud-shrouded and/or rain-soaked days later, we had lots of family bonding in bucolic GREEN surroundings. Even so, it was a relaxing, pleasant interlude. We swapped stories, roasted bacon around the firepit (in the rain), and visited nearby Coudersport and Benezette. The only thing that would have made our visit better was clear skies. Fingers crossed for good stargazing when we return later this summer -- and whenever the mood strikes as long as the property is available for rental and our budget allows.

Everything we needed was at the cabin. The quiet was a blessing. Sleeping with open windows to hear the rain pattering down was a real stress buster, too! We look forward to exploring further on our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solitude and comfort
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure for us to serve you Michelle. It is always good when families can reconnect. I see you are coming back in September around the new dark moon period and we do appreciate your return visit. Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrQuincy5...
Belle Haven
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Turn off the cell phone and the Internet and come enjoy the mountains!”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, the reference to Cherry Springs State Park, which recently received a designation as an International Dark Skies Park, is a bit misleading. While the house is not far from the park as the crow flies, keep in mind that the crow has to drive up Route 872, east on Route 6, and south on Route 44 to get there--about 30 minutes one way. Route 44 is being repaired; the project will last well into the fall of 2015. That being said, you really don't need to drive over hill and dale to get a great view of the night sky. There is a large field right near the house which the owners keep mowed, so you can take your blanket and flashlight out at night and get a tremendous view of the Milky Way. We were there for the annual Perseid meteor shower and, while we were skunked a bit by ground fog below and cloud cover above, it was still a good show and worth the trip.
Some caution is needed on the final approach to the house for those with small cars. The driveway is about 1/4 mile long--rough and rocky. Just take it slow (leave the Corvette at home), follow the power line poles, and you'll do fine.
The house is advertised as having room for 6 which is true, however, 2 of the 6 had better be ready to sleep in bunk beds.
The kitchen amenities are generally adequate--you will have to wash dishes by hand but, hey! you're camping; it's all part of the total immersion experience along with the lack of telecommunications.
We had a young bear visit twice--I recommend bringing a trashcan inside rather than risk leaving garbage outside for the dawn patrol marauder.
Grocery stores are 20 minutes to the west in Coudersport and 40 minutes or so to the east in Galeton. It is highly recommended that you shop for your provisions before you go out to the house because it is not exactly a hop-skip around the corner to the Seven-Eleven.
A must-do excursion is a visit to the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon. Okay, so it's not as big and vast as THE Grand Canyon. Still, the Pine Creek Rail Trail at the bottom can't be beat for hiking and biking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the night sky
Liked least: The access road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Cabin. You picked one of the Best times for Star Gazing, the Perseid Meteor Shower, a new moon and the Milky Way was in amazing form. As you indicated our star gazing field shares the same amazing dark skies as Cherry Springs State Park, we are so glad you took advantage of them, it's one of our best features. Plus the bear cub sighting was a true bonus. Due to the remote nature of our Cabin, the driveway is always one of our top priorities as we deal with mother nature on a weekly basis. Again, thank you and you are welcome back anytime for R & R.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcalamita
Folsom, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great and Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Booked the cabin for a getaway with my wife and was not disappointed. The cabin was very nice and contained everything you would need. The private viewing field was an awesome addition to the stay. On the first night we had the idea of laying out on the field during the night, we have watched too many horror movies and could only muster up about 20 minutes of courage before we retreated back to the cabin. For those who are from suburbs or cities it’s the darkest you will ever be in at night outside, and the woods that are surrounding the cabin are full of noises from various wildlife so that makes you a bit jumpy as well. On the Cabin Deck you are able to view the sky as well. We turned off all the lights except 1 or 2 and viewed the stars.
The next morning we traveled to the PA Grand Canyon (Leonard Harrison State Park) to conquer the Turkey trail. That was about an hour away from the cabin and well worth the trip. There is a little town Wellsboro right around there and it was a nice place to visit as well. I would recommend the gas light pub to eat at in that town. Really good bar type food.
Earlier that morning I was able to in touch with Stash the Night Sky tour guide at Cherry springs and set up a tour for that night. Stash told me he really doesn't check his email so make sure you call him to set up a time. He was great and very knowledgeable about the night sky and showed us some amazing things. If we had to do it all over again I would set up Stash for our first night and our second night would have went back to cherry springs and just set up a blanket and watched the night sky, if you are not used to seeing many stars in the sky then this sky will blow your mind. Cherry springs is about 30 minutes from the cabin. When you are driving back home, high beams and go very slowly there are a lot of deer that will come out and there are no street lights or anything so it is extremely dark.

As for finding the cabin it was not hard, we met Bob at a spot just off the main road there and he lead us to the cabin. I'm pretty sure if we didn't have my wife's crossover and had my sedan we would not have made it up the hill to the cabin. If you have a crossover type of a car I would highly recommend using that instead of a sedan.

Like I said earlier the cabin was very nice and really does have everything you need there, we were surprised there was so much pans and such for the kitchen it was very nice. The main bed on the second floor was extremely comfortable.

There will be some bugs in the house as you may expect living in the woods, but it wasn't bad at all. I would suggest bringing off or if you need to you can just go buy some at the store. I would suggest getting some food and alcohol before you go to the cabin. There is also some stores around but they are about 15 minutes away from the cabin which isn’t bad but you will find yourself not wanting to go back and forth to the cabin.
Overall the cabin was great and are already planning a trip next year with a couple more people. I will try to post some pictures when I get a chance as well.

The only 2 suggestions I have for this place is 1. I wish the road to the cabin was paved so it would be easier getting to the cabin and 2. Wish there was a lookout type of thing in the field or a raised platform of some sort so you can feel a little safer while out in the field. Something so if a bear or some other wildlife couldn’t sneak up on you. Again highly recommend this place.
Oh also as for cell phone service Tmobile(no service) Verizon very little in the cabin you might be able to get a text message but on the viewing field you get full service .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
We are flattered by your insightful review and we thank you for your kind words. It is excellent advice to team up with Stash for his private guided Star Tour. He's the best. We're happy to provide you with a unique outdoor experience. Again thank you and we hope you return soon, all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmkeagy
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible cabin and experience ”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have visited twice. Both times, Chis and Kate made it very easy to book the cabin. Their Handy Man, Bob is very helpful, flexible, and accommodating when arranging your check-in.

The cabin is tucked away on top of a long dirt road which adds to the adventure. Once inside, you will instantly fall in love with this place. It is super clean, well appointed and has all that you will need to enjoy your stay.

We went to visit Cherry Springs State Park but I will share that the stars are just as great from their 10 acre lot!

For those of you who need to unplug and get away from it all, don't wait and book this perfect mountain getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Welcome back and thank you. I will pass you kind words onto our home cleaners as I believe they are the best in the business. Our 10 acre star gazing field shares the same dark skies as Cherry Springs State Park which makes Blue Skies Cabin so special for your star gazing. We hope to see you soon. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pantone29...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, beautiful, everything we hoped for and more”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a weekend at Blue Skies Lodge and I can't say enough positive things about it -- not even a day of freezing rain and cloudy skies could spoil the peace, beauty and coziness of this property. Chris and Kate were extremely flexible, responsive, and helpful throughout the rental process, and "The World's Best Handyman" Bob Anderson was a wonderful help and guide as we arrived after dark. The photos don't do the house justice -- it is beautiful, well-equipped, and was cozy enough for a couple but spacious enough for a group of friends. The property and especially the observation field were the highlight of the stay -- wonderful views, plenty of walking trails, and no neighbors in sight. We had one clear night, and the stars were as amazing as advertised. If you're looking for a bit of civilization, the town of Coudersport was a quick drive and had delicious, inexpensive food options and incredibly friendly people.

We quickly realized we needed a lot more than a weekend to explore the surrounding area, and are hoping to return to see some of the other seasons. We did a lot of research on the lodging options in the area before our trip, but no more -- this will be our first and only choice for as long as Chris and Kate are willing to share!

Last tips --
-The rental agreement warns about needing 4WD in the winter months to make it up the private driveway -- listen to them! It was no problem in an SUV but I would be careful even in a heavy rain if you don't have 4WD. Our friends ended up having to hike up after an unusually bad ice storm -- it's steep, but short enough that a fit person could do it if necessary.
-If anyone is hesitant about being totally unplugged, Verizon phone users, you should have a tiny bit of reception for text messages -- just enough for emergencies, not enough to interrupt the relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your positive comments about the Cabin and the property. It's great comments like these that inspire my wife and I to provide unique cabins for our guests. We are happy you had a chance to see the amazing stars, they are quite a sight. Come back anytime you wish, we'll save you a date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing