We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable and charming”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed four nights (Sunday through Wednesday) and were the only 2 rooms booked for that time. That made our stay seem like being home, as we had the run of the house! Our rooms were huge (windows on 3 sides), well appointed, and equipped with their own outdoor furnished porches. Breakfasts were filling, although heavy on fat and sugar. A lighter choice, e.g., yogurt and/or cereal, would have been appreciated. But we would return again and recommend the hotel as a charming and comfortable choice in the Brandywine Valley.

Room Tip: The Windsor is the one I stayed in. It is large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madamqueen, Owner at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks about Hamanassett. Although most of our guests splurge and enjoy our decadent breakfasts, we are always happy to accommodate guests who prefer a lighter breakfast. We serve fresh fruit every day and cereal, yogurt and toast are always available upon request. When you return be sure and let us know what you prefer ahead of time and we will be delighted to accommodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    27
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
298
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a lovely place. The rooms are wonderful and very, very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The hosts were fabulous - friendly, had great suggestions for restaurants, wine tasting and walks. A great place to stay. Wish there were more like this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValorWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

For the last two weeks in May we had the great fortune to stay in the Meadows Cottage at the Hamanassett Bed and Breakfast near Media, PA. We were in Philadelphia on an SOS mission to help out our son and daughter-in-law who were dealing with newly born twin daughters who arrived nearly 7 weeks early (all doing great). In our search to find a furnished rental/lease that would accommodate my wife, two older yellow labradors and me for a two to four week stay, we went through the usual process: google furnished rentals (homes and condos) in Greater Philadelphia; search VRBO; contact friends in the area; and check out HomeAway, a new website for us.

After a fairly lengthy search, we landed on a HomeAway listing for a “Brandywine Valley Cottage on Private Estate”. The pictures looked inviting. Secluded cottage overlooking a pasture with horses; backs up to a national forest bordered by the Chester Creek; equipped with everything you’d need for a two week stay. Surely they didn’t accept dogs and certainly not a couple of 95 pounders.

Not only were owner/proprietors Ashley and Glenn Mon welcoming, they go out of their way to attend to the needs of all guests, two or four legged. For example, we had days where we would be unable to get back to the cottage to feed and walk our dogs. Their solution? Not a problem. B&B staff member Corine would be available to handle those chores for us for a reasonable fee. One day, yours truly allowed his wife to take off in the running Sienna without the key for the keyless ignition. Works fine until you stop 5 miles away and turn off the car. A simple inquiry to Glenn about area taxis and bus routes along the Baltimore Pike evolved quickly into Glenn providing me with the keys to his LR3 Land Rover. Are you kidding? I wouldn’t let my kids borrow that car. But Glenn didn’t even give it a second thought. There are many sights and wonderful place to eat in the Brandywine Valley. Glenn and Ashley are on top of them all and enjoy special relationships with many of the locations. Our time was otherwise occupied but we’ll look to them for help the next trip up.

Accommodations at the cottage were wonderful. The cable TV and WiFi worked perfectly, the latter spinning along at over 20mbps download speeds. There wasn’t any appliance, pot, pan or kitchen utensil we could think of that they didn’t have. Just bring groceries and you’re good to go. My one disappointment was that we only managed to make it up to the main B&B twice for breakfast. A reviewer from the New York Times had highlighted their breakfast and he was right on. Our last Sunday there we enjoyed fresh waffles with melted butter and Pecan Bourbon Maple Syrup. Ashley gave us the recipe and I guarantee this Gentleman Jack drinker will be taking it for a road test real soon.

Just so you don’t think this place is all or only about welcoming pets, it’s a perfect place to come for a romantic weekend getaway from New England or Washington DC. Glenn and Ashley host special getaway packages that with room and board included are a steal. Periodically they have cooking classes run by a professional chef. We were there during the two day Italian cooking class but feeding babies and changing dirty diapers prevented us from attending.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the two cottages, especially if you bring pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I chose this delightful country inn to surprise my wife for her 60th birthday. It's in the heart of many attractions in the Brandywine Valley, but it is tucked away on a hilltop, with plenty of peace and quiet for relaxation. Common areas are spacious and comfortable. We took advantage of their cooking class. We spent 4-1/2 hours preparing the dishes for our dinner under the tutelage of 2 professional chefs, who then served the meal to us that evening. What an experience and an education! The innkeepers, Glenn and Ashley, were gracious, friendly and well-informed, with spot-on tips on local restaurants, wineries and sightseeing. We could not have asked for a more pleasant experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madamqueen, Owner at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We are so pleased that these guests found Hamanassett enjoyable and that the 60th birthday surprise was a memorable experience. Their participation in our cooking class ( it was Italian fare) was exciting as they helped make the fresh mozzarella and created the chocalate hazelnut gelato and veal saltimbucco that was part of the served menu. We're looking forward to hosting a private class for them and their gourmet club in the future. Thank you for sharing your good experiences with everyone. Buon Appetito!

Glenn Mon, Innkeeper/Qwner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We spent eight wonderful days in the charming carriage house accompanied by our two dogs. After driving in from Fllorida, the setting offered us peace and tranquility. The incredible country home, beautiful grounds, gracious hosts, friendly horses and gorgeous grounds provided such a special vacation for us. The carriage house was incredibly charming and beautifully decorated, including the bathrooms! We enjoyed dinners on the front porch and swinging in the hammock in the evenings. The dogs were treated like royalty and enjoyed every minute along with us! Ashley and Glen couldn't do enough to make our stay a very comfortable one! Breakfast, served by candlelight, with exquisite china was absolutely delicious! We highly recommend this destination and look forward to returning sometime again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester Heights
4.6 km away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
10.3 km away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
14.9 km away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
6.4 km away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
18.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Address: 115 Indian Springs Dr, Chester Heights, PA 19063-5622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester Heights
Price range (per night): $318 - $380
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brandywine Valley romantic escape near major attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Brandywine River Museum, Barnes Museum, and Hagley. 30 minutes from Philadelphia. Enjoy our Southern Hospitality where customer service is a priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing