We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How about some great ice cream”

Handel's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Berwyn
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Had delicious homemade ice cream at Handel's tonight. They have a bunch of flavors and the portion sizes are pretty generous. I had buckeye which is peanut butter ice cream with swirls of fudge and buckeye pieces (peanut butter covered in chocolate). How could that be bad! It was delicious. There is a line but it moves quickly and the ice cream is worth the wait.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AmyD1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

I’ve never been to Handel’s when there wasn’t a line. It usually moves quickly. I think if they had a menu in the parking lot where everyone was lined up then people could see their options while waiting instead of trying to read it once they reach the counter. It would probably make the line move even faster because people would be more prepared to place their orders. There are many choices of homemade ice cream on the menu. I tried the maple walnut tonight which was creamy and had enough walnuts but really didn’t have too much of a maple flavor. Next time I’m planning to try the coconut cream pie. My husband had a scoop of chocolate chunk which was vanilla ice cream with chocolate chunks and a scoop of chocolate ice cream with marshmallows. He preferred the chocolate marshmallow. There’s a parking lot although the line snakes through it. There are benches to sit once you score your dessert.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank JPSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

No atmosphere, nothing to say except the ICE CREAM IS WONDERFUL AND VERY COMFORTABLE TO ENJOY. Why else should a customer care since you wait in line most of time, knowing and watching the anticipation on the customer's faces; as they will soon be enjoying a very special treat. Joe cool

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoeA548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Not sure if there is any better ice cream around here at all!!!! WE usually take home quarts, when we are looking for a bit of a treat. The best of the year, in my opinion is the Peppermint Stick which is only available in December and occasionally during "Christmas in July"! A place not to be missed if you are ever in the area!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank momteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We love the ice cream at Handel's but it is really hard to choose from do many great flavors. So we share a 4 scoop sampler, great value and you get to taste 4 flavors.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank nickvandekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Handel's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Handel's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing