We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
111
6
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
6
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogwood room gracious hosts bed and breakfast breakfast was delicious other guests fine china crystal glasses front porch charming b b beautiful bathroom soaking tub each morning thoroughly enjoyed our stay springs resort downtown bedford within walking distance definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this historic B&B recently with another couple. Both bedrooms were beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The historic charm of the house was accompanied by gracious hosts who shared their insights and knowledge of the community and local establishments.

The breakfasts were delicious with a nice variety and great coffee. We also enjoyed late afternoons/evening on the spacious but cozy front porch reminiscing about times past. The thoughtful wine and cheese offered by our hosts were much appreciated.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PappyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We stayed at The Chancellor's house for 2 nights as a getaway to celebrate my wife's birthday. The property itself is very impressive. It has been lovingly restored and tastefully decorated. Thankfully the home has also been updated with modern (and effective) air conditioning which made it very comfortable during the hot weather we experienced during our stay. The George's, our hosts for the weekend could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Steve is very familiar with all the offerings in and around Bedford, and did a great job recommending restaurants and other attractions for us during our stay. Since it was our first time in the area, that extra attention was greatly appreciated. They truly made us feel welcome, and gave the impression that they would do anything needed to make our stay a good one. Our room (Dogwood room) was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. The entire place was spotless with beautiful gardens all around. Oh... and as others have mentioned, breakfast was just fantastic too! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Our stay with Steve and Lynn was fabulous! Their home is absolutely gorgeous and our room was very clean and comfortable. Lynn is an exceptional cook making us breakfasts that were delicious. They both recommended the 10/09 Kitchen in downtown Bedford for our Anniversary dinner, and Steve called to get us in since we did not have a reservation. It truly was the highlight meal of our trip. Steve is an exceptional host. We sat and talked with him for hours our first night there and learned so much about the town and things to do. He even arranged for a private tour of the Bedford Historic Museum for us since it was closed during our stay. The location of the B&B was perfect and if it wasn't so hot and humid during our stay, we would have walked into town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chancellor's House and recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Daffodil Room and it was lovely. The TV is small, but functional.
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TerryTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

My partner and I have previously stayed with Lynn & Steve while en route to Ohio. For us, Bedford is a happy stopping place to break up the drive from Philadelphia. We were warmly greeted, just in time for wine, cheese and conversation on the front porch. We stayed in the Parkview Room which features a comfy four poster bed, plenty of interesting reading material and a spacious private bath. Steve recommended that we visit Bedford Springs Resort for dinner which we did and had a nice meal at the "Tavern". In the morning, Lynn & Steve served a plentiful breakfast of cantaloupe soup, egg frittata, sausage and toast with the requisite coffee, all on Steve's mother's fine china with the good silver and crystal glasses. Lynn is the consummate gardener so our table was graced with fresh flowers straight from the back yard. Just FYI, payment is accepted in the form of cash or personal check -no plastic.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

It was clearly a Divine appointment! Our intended Motel had no record of our reservation and the rudeness of the concierge felt like the voice of God saying, don't stay here! I have some where else for you to stay! We looked for a bed and breakfast and are so glad we found the Chancellor's house. Steve and Lynn George couldn't have been more welcome and accommodating. The beautiful and very comfortable home, the tales of its history, and the exquisite meals are wonderful memories etched in our minds and hearts forever. We would highly recommend you not miss the opportunity to visit the Chancellor's house.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosalind D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews