We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Views, but Shabby, Dated Motel”
Review of The Yachats Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Yachats Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Boy does this place badly need a remodel. Gorgeous property right on the coast with lovely views, but our suite was sadly in disrepair.
There were three of us and they knew we were sharing a suite that had a hid-abed, a single bed and a separate room with an double bed. The bathroom was in the bedroom with the double bed. The door to the bedroom sometimes locked itself so being awakened in the night by my friend pounding on the door to use the bathroom was not fun. Also, no one made up the hid-abed so when we turned in for the night imagine our dismay. And the office was closed for the night already at ten! We called the emergency number and they begrudgingly brought sheets and one flimsy blanket. Also, there is a fireplace, but, only a couple of logs. We called the office to see if we could get more. Sure, for purchase, we were told. Honestly!
The bed I slept in was hard with a mattress pad that didn’t fit so it bunched up all night. There weren’t enough blankets. I will not be staying here again. I loved the view but frankly the whole original wing of this motel needs to be demolished and rebuilt.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We headed to the coast for a quick family trip. Since it was the last weekend of summer it was slim pickings and because we travel with a dog it is particularly slimmer pickings. Truth be told Yachats seems to be the getaway choice for those who live in Eugene. It's a small town and can be packed from "in-landers". You have to get up pretty early to avoid the long lines. Weekdays are a different story.

That's where Yachats Inn came in. The room was small and outdated. The walls were concrete. Each room has a nice deck with a sliding glass door that opens up onto a grassy field. The ocean is across the street and involved some climbing to get to. Not ideal for those who are not able-bodied. The rode has quite a bit of traffic that could pose not safe for small children. The dog was happy with the grass and the climbing to the well-used beach. No extras for the dog: no extra bowl for water ( we forgot to bring one and ended up using the ice container), no extra towels and no extra treats )or any trays for that matter). These are not complaints. Just observations. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that takes up most of the ocean view. I didn't go in but could hear it gettingnlots of use. There aren't extra towels to use for it.

No decaf coffee in rooms but you can get it in the lobby. There is a big joint room attached to the lobby to use to cook that is open to all guests. The bathroom seemed clean but on closer inspection of the shower there was mildew in the grout. I found lots of dust in the room and then wifi is not to be used to stream tv.

Experience has told me that any establishment that has lots of rules for its guests usually aren't the best. And while this place isn't the best. It isn't the worst either.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank KLondon541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Newly modeled suites and a stunning oceanfront location make the Yachats Inn a great place for a comfortable, relaxing getaway. The Tea Room is an airy and comfortable space for meetings and group meals. The swimming pool has sweeping views of the ocean on three sides. But for me, it was the attitude of the staff that sealed the deal - I return every year with a new group of people. I organize A Dog's Dream retreats for service dogs and their partners, and from the beginning felt we were truly welcome. The staff go out of their way to make this an extraordinary experience for all involved, both dogs and people. It's a place of heart - and in a fast-paced, often uncaring world, that's what makes it stand out above the rest.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cdcdcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Had a nice stay at the Yachats Inn on the beautiful Oregon coast. We stayed in the "rustic" section and our room was $99 + tax for one night. The lodging is old but efficient and you can lay in your bed and look out over the lawn to the ocean, and hear it at night! Rocks below but sand not too far away.
Old shower and bare amenities ( combined shampoo/conditioner) and no hair dryer but the towels were nice! Didn't have time to use the pool but it looked welcoming. Nice staff also! Will return!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Krisinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I stayed in the North Suite. View is very nice. Room is very old and funky with a smell of old fish and wet dog. Holes in the carpet from the fireplace. Furniture and beds reasonably comfortable. Living room was very dark - only two lamps. At $150/night you are paying for the view but don't expect high end elegance. Staff very friendly, check-in and out smooth and easy. Very quiet, even though hotel was full. Recommend? Yes, if you don't mind basic and old.

Room Tip: North & south suites would have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJF1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
6.3 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
1.8 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
563 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean Cove Inn
Ocean Cove Inn
#6 of 11 in Yachats
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
931 reviews
36.8 km away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
38.3 km away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yachats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yachats Inn

Address: P.O. Box 307, 331 South Coast Highway 101, Yachats, OR 97498-0307
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: $90 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yachats Inn sits on 4.4 Acres of ocean front property with lush sprawling lawns leading straight down to the ocean. Sitting front and center is our full sized indoor 85 degree heated 8 ft swimming pool, as well as a 10 person 104 degree inviting hot tub. Both feature spectacular views to watch the waves crash while relaxing. The Inn has 35 rooms ranging in price, size, and amenities. Standard 1 & 2 queen rooms with great ocean views, sliding glass doors and a deck. The Front suites are a guest favorite, They sit ocean front, with a large deck, full kitchen, and large wood burning fireplaces. We also have our newer Luxury Kitchen Suites that feature 1 bedroom, full kitchen, gas fireplaces, and balconies with great views of the ocean. Downstairs luxury suites feature bay, garden, and mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Yachats Hotel Yachats
The Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing